FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2005-06-15 - 12:26 p.m.

June 6, 2005

One of my favorite earrings somehow slipped out of my ear and INTO THE GARBAGE DISPOSAL WHILE IT WAS RUNNING. WTFF KIND OF COINCIDENCE IS THAT!? GODDAMMIT! I am not happy. They were really cheap, but I don't think I'll be able to replace them. Shit.

I had a busy fun weekend including a Phillies doubleheader with BOX SEATS thanks to P's work connections -- do you know those boxes have PRIVATE BATHROOMS!? You only have to share with the other people in the box. How am I ever going to go to a normal ballgame again? I know Poindexter won't.

Went dirt biking yesterday (used our Memorial Day holiday a week late) for the first time since last fall. Much to my surprise, I am only mildly sore. I was expecting to be a stiff painful mess. By next time I should be fine. I am very happy to report that TMI ALERT my new sports bra, the one I was fretting about awhile back, worked beautifully. About fifteen minutes into riding, I went over a big rock and my backpack bounced against my back (I hate that), but MY BOOBIES STAYED PUT. And I hadn't even noticed that I was wearing it. This might be because I tried to arrange the boobies better inside the bra so they weren't bunched up. They were quite flat and didn't budge. END TMI

Work is busy this week so I am going to have to resign myself to not getting caught up on LJ. :( Speaking of which, I must go make printouts for my meeting with my supervisor tomorrow.


June 14, 2005

Those of you who read Kit's journal know that her time threshold for leftovers edibility is very short. Combine that with the fact that she won't eat the same food two days in a row, and most of her leftovers get thrown out.

John (her boyfriend) is more toward the other extreme, eating spilled food off the countertop or floor, and using a boulder as a plate.

My edibility time threshold is about a week, and I'll eat the same thing for two meals in a row, or more if I really like it. I ate some of Kit's poor abandoned leftovers while she was visiting. Otherwise I had been veering toward Kit's end of the spectrum (germphobe territory), probably because I am a hypochondriac.

But after hearing about John and observing him firsthand, I've started to lean in the other direction. I can't quite bring myself to eat a strawberry I dropped on a Philadelphia sidewalk, even after washing it, but I've begun taking little chances here and there, as I mention (to Kit's horror) in this IM conversation:

Kit: i would feel guilty for throwing food away. that sort of thing.
Me: You SHOULD feel guilty throwing food away!! AHAHAHA
Me: I am appalled! ;)
Kit: NO I SHOULD NOT!!!!!!
Kit: it could killl me!
Me: PERFECTLY GOOD FOOD!
Kit: and those dews are FLAT and yucky!!!
Kit: *throws food at evelynne*
Me: Well, the Dews I understand.
Kit: hahaha
Me: I'll eat it!
Me: I even ate a noodle that I dropped on the floor.
Me: It's all because of John.
Kit: DON'T TELL ME THESE THINGS.
Me: I'm keeping my immune system strong.
Me: Tell John when he gets back.
Me: "Evelynne ate a noodle off the floor and it's all because of you!"
Kit: hahahahahaha
Kit: he will be so proud!

I think my boss is the worst I've ever seen, though -- he's been known to eat two-week-old Chinese soup and moldy applesauce. He reheats the soup in the microwave for a good five minutes on high power, but still. Yet he's been doing this for many of his 70 years and is remarkably fit even for a man half his age, so perhaps he's on to something.


June 14, 2005, later in the day

I CAN'T BELIEVE I HAVE A *COLD* IN *JUNE*!

GOD FUCKING DAMMIT!

I'm going to bed. >:(


June 15, 2005

Still sick. Still pissed about it. Moving on:

I was tagged at least once for the "favorite songs" meme. Like Ike, this is "the first six current favorites I thought of", since this kinda thing changes and I have more than six. A year or two ago I was playing Rage Against the Machines "Renegades of Funk" over and over again, but now I'm sick of it. Anyway:

"Stayin' Alive", The Bee Gees. I *cannot* sit still when this song is playing. It immediately puts me in a good mood. I love, love, love this song. This is probably an all-time favorite.

"Day Tripper", The Beatles. Just discovered this one. I love the riff in the very beginning that gets repeated throughout. I am only familiar with 3 or 4 Beatles albums so I still have more to discover.

"Who Are You", The Who. I just saw this on "The Kids are Alright" DVD, and the combination of the visuals and the song itself blew me away.

Theme from "Grease", Frankie Valli (written by Barry Gibb! HEE!) Another on of those can't-sit-still songs. Everybody else always liked "Summer Lovin'" but this has always been my favorite song from "Grease".

"Depuis Toujours", Francis Cabrel's cover of Otis Redding's "I've Been Loving You Too Long". Slow, sweet, and kinda sad. The effect of which is ruined by Poindexter, who will wander into the room and start singing along off-key with a bad accent. "D'PWEE TOO JOOoooooooo"

I gotta stick in a couple classical because I really love these:

Prelude VII, from Book II of the Well-Tempered Clavier, J.S. Bach. I've tried to learn to play this on the piano but never seem to manage to get all the way through it. Bach is tough and I'm not particularly dedicated to the piano at the moment. Plus, if I spent the time drilling and learning, I'd probably stop liking it so much.

"And the Glory of the Lord", from Handel's Messiah. I accompanied the school madrigal for this song in high school and I love it to death.

Do I really need to tag you to get you to do this? Of course, I'm going to request that you tell me a little story about each of your songs, too.

I'm also doing a favorite song meme lifted from LJ user Gonzolawyer. I'm specifying the non-responses as follows:

- If I put "none" next to a band, I'm just not really into them and there's never been a song I got excited about.
- If I put "N/A", it means I am not familiar with the artist's songs.

My musical knowledge is so very limited that often a song is one of only two or three I've heard from that artist. If I actually have heard enough to be familiar with a lot of their work, I put a star next to my answer.

I moved things around to put all my N/As together because it was getting ridiculous. And I added a few embarrassing bands to the bottom; you can take or leave those as you wish. :)

I can't really call these favorites. I can't pick those. These are "Songs I really like a lot that came to mind first while I was answering."

--

Favorite Beatles song: (tie) "Get Back" and "Daytripper" *
Favorite solo song by a former Beatle: It's probably "Imagine", but I want to say "So Bad" for the fun of it.
Favorite Rolling Stones song: "Sympathy For the Devil", for sentimental reasons. Poindexter sang that song to me once back when I was 18 years old and completely nutso with a crush on him.
Favorite Prince song: "Little Red Corvette"
Favorite Michael Jackson song: Hmmm... when I found him tolerable, it was "Thriller"
Favorite Metallica song: "And Nothing Else Matters"
Favorite Depeche Mode song: "Waiting for the Night"
Favorite song that most of your friends haven't heard: "Presque Rien", Francis Cabrel
Favorite Police song: I don't really like The Police, but "Don't Stand So Close to Me" or "Wrapped Around Your Finger" are OK.
Favorite song from a movie: I am always falling in love with songs from movie soundtracks. A few of my favorites are: "Jimmy Was", from the opening titles of "Sling Blade", "Useless", from "Erin Brockovitch", LJer Madbard's theme from "All Over Again", and of course, the Opening Titles of Star Wars still make my hairs stand on end after all these years.
Favorite Blondie song: "The Tide is High"
Favorite Genesis song: This was stuck in my head the other day ... "Throwing It All Away"
Favorite Led Zeppelin song: GAH! How the hell ... um ... OK, "The Lemon Song". *
Favorite Weird Al song: "I Lost on Jeopardy"
Favorite Pink Floyd song: AAAAAAAaaaagh. Ok, fine, "Time". *
Favorite cover song: "Golden Lights", covered by The Smiths, originally performed by some chick I don't know.
Favorite dance song: "Stayin' Alive"!!!!!!!! *
Favorite U2 song: "One Tree Hill"
Favorite disco song: "Stayin' Alive"!!!!!!!! *
Favorite The Who song: "Who Are You" *
Favorite Elton John song: "I Guess That's Why They Call It The Blues"
Favorite Clash song: "Should I Stay or Should I Go"
Favorite Elvis song: "Blue Suede Shoes" *

Favorite Jimi Hendrix song: "The Star-Spangled Banner"
Favorite Ice Cube song: "Girls LGBNAF"

Favorite Nirvana song: None.

Favorite Snoop Dogg song: N/A
Favorite Johnny Cash song: N/A
Favorite R.E.M. song: N/A
Favorite Hank Williams, Sr. song: N/A
Favorite Bad Religion song: N/A
Favorite Bruce Springsteen song:
Favorite Joni Mitchell song: N/A
Favorite Lou Reed song: N/A
Favorite Patti Smith song: N/A
Favorite Janis Joplin song: N/A
Favorite Bob Dylan song: N/A
Favorite Pixies song: N/A
Favorite Public Enemy song: N/A
Favorite Cure song: N/A
Favorite Beastie Boys song: N/A
Favorite Sex Pistols song: N/A
Favorite INXS song: N/A
Favorite Neil Young song: N/A
Favorite Ramones song: N/A
Favorite David Bowie song: N/A
Favorite New Order song: N/A

Embarrassing bands I added:

Favorite Monkees song: Either "She Hangs Out" or "Tomorrow's Gonna Be Another Day"
Favorite Styx song: "Superstars" or "Too Much Time on my Hands"
Favorite Fleetwood Mac song: "Never Goin' Back Again"

And here are a couple amusingly snooty-looking outfit pictures of me walking down the hall:

previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!