FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2005-06-02 - 12:16 p.m.

Wednesday, June 1, 2005

In my earlier entry about my hearing, I mentioned that I can't distinguish between consonants, and had trouble believing that hearing people could, either. This wasn't a conscious belief until I wrote it, and upon examination it is clearly irrational. What did I think, that hearing people were just better at guessing from context than I am? *snort*

Never one to let logic get in the way of an amusing pastime, I asked Poindexter to say pairs of words for me, mixed randomly into groups of four. Like "call" and "tall", and "funny and sunny". I made him say them four times in an order I didn't know (like "call call tall call"). Then I would put my head down and try to "hear" what he was saying. What I heard sounded something like this:

[click]all [click]all [click]all [click]all

where "click" is just an explosive breathy noise.

Obviously, I could NEVER get it right. I would hear subtle differences in his VOICE, which would make me think I was hearing one consonant or the other, but I was not; I just could not distinguish the words.

Then I did it to him, several times, and every time he got them all right. So much for my disbelief that you hearing people can't really distinguish the sounds with your ears. :)

One time I was SURE I'd heard the first two words correctly, but didn't catch the other two, and I told him this and repeated back the first two, and he said -- amusedly exasperated with the exercise at this point -- "YOU'RE ALREADY WRONG!" HAHAHAHAHAHA!

--------

This morning I was experimenting with three ways to wear a sheer white shirt layered over a navy blue tank. I ended up going with the last one, because it was more fitted but didn't hide the tank like the first one did.


Thursday, June 2nd, 2005

Night before last, sometime in the middle of the night, I was rudely awakened by a loud noise and was so startled I did a full-body jerk that nearly propelled me out of bed. It sounded to me like a couple of heavy books or the clock radio had fallen off a nightstand. Poindexter didn't seem perturbed, merely patted me reassuringly, so I assumed he knew what the sound was and went back to sleep. After my heart stopped racing, that is.

Last night, before bed, I asked Poindexter:

Evelynne: Do you remember last night, when there was a loud noise, and I nearly jumped out of bed?
Poindexter: Hmmmmm ...
Evelynne: It sounded like something falling off a nightstand or dresser. I jumped a foot.
Poindexter: I remember you jumping. You really went off there. But ... there was no noise.

What the HECK!? He suggested I had been dreaming, but it didn't seem that way to me, unless you can just dream a noise. And it happened in the middle of deep sleep, not as I was nodding off

I get full-body jerks fairly often as I'm drifting off. Somewhere in that dozing period, when my conscious mental images start to turn into unconscious dream images, occasionally I will see an image of, say, unexpected stairs in front of me and I'll stop suddenly in the dream and my body will jerk in real life. Sometimes these jerks are pretty dramatic, which makes Poindexter laugh.

He does it occasionally too, but most often after we've been dirt biking. It happens to both of us. After dirt biking all day, our brains get stuck in riding mode -- looking for "lines" (a smoother path you can take through rocks/dirt), avoiding obstacles, downshifting to go uphill, stuff like that. So when we are falling asleep, our brains will see a trail in front of us and start "riding" it, and somewhere along the way something will happen that makes us try to do something with our not-yet-fully-asleep bodies, resulting in a comical jerk. It's pretty funny.

I'm expecting this to happen tomorrow night, when we get back from our first dirt biking trip of the season. Can't wait!!! :)

No fashion pictures today; I had a lovely afternoon out flower shopping and having dinner with my mommy in NJ and spent the last hour preparing for our trip. I have everything ready to go in the morning and now I'm headed to bed.

In closing, however, I would like to make a request of all the drivers out there in the I-95 corridor. Sadly, the vast majority of them aren't even on LJ, but it makes me feel better to get it out. I'm sure you understand. The request is this:

STOP RUBBERNECKING.

Thank you, and good night.



previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!