FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2003-08-21 - 3:59 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Our House"


Monday, August 4 & Wednesday, August 6

Well, Ike, his WonderBunny ("WB"), the Thundering Herd, and Kit have all departed, leaving me in a house that now feels way too big and empty and eerily quiet. Somehow it doesn't seem right, after this weekend, not to hear Fuzzy Kitten's voice wafting up from the Theater-Room-turned-Playroom and having kids climbing up and down my stairs. :)

So, it was lovely. My nervous excitement the night before seems laughable now, because as soon as everyone arrived it was as though they'd been around forever. It never ceases to amaze me, in the best kind of way, the kind of wonderful people I've met through LiveJournal. And to think, a year or so ago I wasn't interested in meeting any of them. :)

I'll probably tell my recap in little bits, rather than trying to tell a comprehensive timeline (not my strong point). Here's a couple tidbits before I go up to take my shower.

----

Mr. Boogers, age 4: Can I touch the [indistinguishable]?
Evelynne: Touch the what?
Mr. Boogers: Can I touch the bug? [points in direction of living room]
Evelynne: [moment of panic] What bug? Where? [visions of cockroaches dancing through my head]
Mr. Boogers: Over there [points in a direction that could be the back deck]
Evelynne: Outside? [Mr. Boogers shakes head] Ok, show me where.

At this point, he leads me over to the CURIO, where I'd completely forgotten I have six little VW Bug toys (matchbox sized) in different colors displayed. "Oh, THOSE bugs! Sure you can touch them." Apparently he'd referred to them as "jeeps" earlier, and someone told him they were actually "bugs".

----

I conspired with Fluffy Muffin, who is the family artist, to make a fish drawing for Kit. I drew a few fish with her, then said, "When you get tired of drawing fish, bring it over to Kit." So she did.

Kit looked at the drawing at first with an "Oh, neat, she drew me a picture!" look on her face, and then her expression changed to "Wait a minute" and then dissolved into the helpless laughter she's famous for. "You put her up to this!" she said accusatorially to me. "Of course I did," I replied, "my name is on it, and I drew those three fish."

Everyone at the table was laughing, but WB didn't know the story. So Kit explained about the whole ridiculous "fish morale" thing, and then continued, "...so I took the fish to the range and I shot them and..." but before Kit could finish WB doubled over laughing and nearly snorted Sprite out her nose, causing the rest of us to laugh uproariously for a good half-minute before Kit could finish her story.

Meeting WB and the kids was like meeting any new people (except better, I already knew I was going to like them), since I didn't have a lot of preconceived notions about them. But meeting Ike, whose journal I've read and with whom I've exchanged a lot of e-mails with over the last year, was a little discombobulating for me, like it always is. Where my mental image clashes with the reality in front of me.

From his writing, I expected Ike to be somewhat serious, with a quiet, occasionally sarcastic sense of humor. I also expected his demeanor to be like Anthony Edwards (Dr. Greene on "ER"), because he'd mentioned that some people said there was a resemblance.

Well, there SORT OF was, but it was very vague and strictly a matter of bone structure in the face area. Otherwise there's no resemblance at all. Dr. Green is a mousy, whiny man without a spine. Ike, on the other hand, is 6'4" with shoulders to match, confident, VERY expressive, and you can TELL he is a Marine.

Anyway, I mentioned my discombobulated state, and WB said, "It's like reading a book and then seeing the movie." What a great analogy!


Thursday, August 7

Tonight I am going to make a very simple pasta dish containing shallots, garlic, almond butter, pine nuts, and pistachios. I hope it works, 'cuz I love nuts. I am a nutty girl. Har.

Reason #4325 why I love living in the city: I can take a different route every time I go to or from somewhere. Sometimes I let the traffic lights decide my route (go straight if it's green; turn if it's red). Other times I just randomly veer down one of the little tiny cobblestone alleys that are too narrow for a car. Today I did that a couple of times and cut through a couple of churchyards too. And a park.

Note to self: PUT THE MEMORY CARD BACK IN THE CAMERA BEFORE YOU LEAVE FOR ONE OF THESE WALKS.

Also today I saw a guy who looked like a black version of Matt Damon. I did a double-take. Matt Damon annoys me, but this guy was CUUUUUUUUUUUUUTE.

And finally, happy birthday to Commander D.! ;)


Friday, August 8th

So, somebody said something nice to me today, and I'm not supposed to talk about it, which is fine with me, but I wanted to at least acknowledge it, so this is that acknowledgement. And now I won't say another word.

HAHAHAHA, don't you just hate cryptic LJ entries? I'll try not to make a habit of it.

In other news, I saw a chick today with pink hair. Gwen-Stefani-pink. She had a tube top on in a matching color. She was hanging out outside a store. Inside the store was a guy with long blue hair. Do you think they knew each other?

And last week, we saw a hot chick who was bald. Poindexter was traumatized.

In case you were wondering about the nutty pasta, it was nutty, but boring. (Not that this is stopping me from eating small bowls of it 3 times today.) Poindexter says he will try to rescue it.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!