FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2003-07-28 - 1:28 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Boris the Spider", The Who


Eric and Christine came by yesterday and we had a great time. I'm gonna try to write a recap here, which I suck at, so I will just try to ignore the suckage and write or it'll never get written.

After a house tour and some chatting, I took them (including Poindexter!) to the cheesesteak place so we could all smell like onions for the rest of the day. Yum.

We went to see the IMAX film, and Eric and I were like two little kids. An IMAX film is a full-body experience for me and it's all I can do at times to keep from screaming from the dizzy (in a good way) feeling. I saw Eric pointing to all the fish he recognized.

Poindexter spent the entire time laughing at the cheesy music, especially in the short film about Philadelphia before the feature. (I didn't care -- I could watch that movie over and over just for the aerial views of Philadelphia. Wheeeeeeeee!) He was actually a little disappointed, because a lot of the film was about "All the coral reefs are gonna die!" and was interspersed with local culture and kids snorkeling, whereas he wanted to actually LEARN ABOUT CORAL REEFS PLEASE.

We then walked to Rittenhouse and got ice cream blends on the way. I got vanilla ice cream with peanut butter and raspberries, and Chris got something very chocolatey and fluffy. Then we sat on a bench and made fun of the people in the park. Highlights:

- A shirtless, fairly muscled guy doing YOGA next to his bike. Sampling of the discussion: What's that all about? What's he doing? Why is he doing it HERE? Is he showing off? Is that difficult? (At which point Christine showed me the position and I had to try the stuff he was doing for myself, and the answer is "yes".) Maybe he's just streching after some biking. No, he's not a serious biker. He's not wearing padded pants and has no clips on his bike.

- A pregnant woman who was so pregnant she looked ready to pop. I almost wondered if she was hoping a walk would make that baby hurry up and be born.

- A tall guy wearing a bright red t-shirt with a white graphic that consisted, from top to bottom of:

two large circles (like eyes, I guess),

a frown shape, and

a long downward pointing arrow (i.e. pointing directly to his male apparatus)

I have no idea what that one was about. He was staring at us staring at him, and I wanted to say, "C'mon, man, whaddayou expect with a big long arrow pointing at your willy!?"

We decided to try a Moroccan restaurant for dinner, but we walked inside and discovered the air was THICK with incense and it was so dark we could barely see, and once we got inside they turned the lights down even more! The walls and the windows were covered with tapestries that I couldn't even see. Plus, the hostess seemed very, uh, wifty. It was all very bizarre. By the time we made it back to the door, Poindexter and I were starting to feel queasy from the incense. Ugh. We ended up going to my favorite restaurant near my house instead, for some damn good American food in a clean, well-lighted place.

It was a lovely, relaxed, fun afternoon. And we got Poindexter out of the house. Amazing!


Cursed crappy memory! When I was writing, I completely forgot about the flying saucer and about his comment about the yoga guy. Yoga Guy was was standing on one leg with his other leg bent, foot touching the standing-leg knee, with his arms raised above his head. When I questioned what he was doing, Eric said, "He's trying to attract a mate." I just about died.

Everyone was making me laugh at regular intervals throughout the day, and of course I can't remember any of the funny comments now.

I just realized that the other part (the first being my memory) of the reason I'm so bad at writing recaps is that I'm scared to say things about other people. I'm so used to ONLY writing about myself and Poindexter that I freak out about saying anything, even when said thing is overwhelmingly positive.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!