FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2003-03-31 - 7:41 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: Still with the "Get It On (Bang a Gong)", T-Rex


Since I'm having so much trouble writing, I figured I would now post the remaining chapters of "Evelynne and Poindexter: A Love Story". I wrote these back in early February sometime and put them aside for a rainy day. That rainy day is now.

Warning: EXTREME SAPPINESS AHEAD. EXTREME.

You should first read the first two parts in at the bottom of entries 105 and 106. Yes, it's taken me two years to finish this story.

Now,

Part III: The Second Visit

In July 1990, when I was 18 and he was 20, Poindexter's uncle got married in Ohio. This is the uncle who is only four years older, that he is very close to and went to the Monsters of Rock concert with two years before. My entire family was also invited. I showed up, looked all around for Poindexter for about an hour, and finally caved and asked his mother where he was. He was back in NEW JERSEY -- where I lived at the time! -- visiting his grandparents. Unbelievable. I was sorely disappointed.

Happily, however, his other uncle -- also my mother's godson -- got married that year too. In California. So we flew out there. From that trip, I remember:

Someone made a Taco Bell run. We all sat by the pool and ate it. I had never had Taco Bell before. This meal consisted mostly of sitting around hoping he'd pay attention to me, while he drank beer and laughed with his uncle at another table.

Meanwhile, he mostly remembers me hanging out with the younger kids a lot rather than hanging out with him. The truth was, I was embarrassed by my crush and didn't want it to seem too obvious, so I tried not to tag along after him like the lost puppy dog that I was.

There were a few times when my brother and I hung out with the older ones. My brother remembers sitting there in a hotel room, watching P drink a lot of Moosehead. "I was thinking, he's cool, I wonder if he'll give me any beer."

Poindexter and I both remember a moment when we were left alone, and "Sympathy for the Devil" [Jane's Addiction version, P says] was on the tape player, and he sang along with it while I watched. Ostensibly I was trying to learn the lyrics by lipreading, but we all know it was just an excuse to stare at him openly while he looked really hot and like a rock star.

There was another time when his uncle's friend, a guy who was about 25, was giving me a back rub. P said later he was digusted. "Why is she letting him touch her?"

Another thing he remembers: "At the wedding, I remember wondering where you were, and finally I walked down the side where all the kids were, you were playing with them. I think you mighta winked at me."

At the wedding came one of those little moments that are hilarious to look back on now:

Evelynne: "You're the kind of guy I'd like to marry, but I don't want to get married until I'm 25."
Poindexter: "Well then, look me up when you're 25 and we'll see how it goes."

He never forgot this conversation. I remembered what I said, but not his reply. Mainly because I thought he was kidding.

Next up: Part IV, in which Evelynne, age 19, tells her future MIL that her son is the kind of man she'd like to marry.


This is a photo of me, during that visit. I am sitting next to the notoriously internet-photo-shy Poindexter. Had to cut him out of the photo, except for his denim-clad leg on the lower right. Lookit, I actually have a tan! And I am not stoned -- camera caught me in mid-blink.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!