FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2003-03-30 - 9:01pm

On the internal soundtrack: "Get It On (Bang a Gong)", T-Rex

On the external soundtrack: Poindexter cussing loudly at his baseball computer game. He buys a new one every other year or so, and they always "cheat", and he always yells at them. I'm going to assume that he enjoys this in some strange way.


Still with the writer's block. This is extremely annoying.

Just now I ran down the stairs to get my digital camera, and at the bottom, using my momentum, I did a slide on the hardwood. My socks were slipperier than I realized, so instead of slowing immediately like I was expecting, I kept sliding and crashed into the cafe table in the breakfast nook. Happily, I was unhurt, but I made quite a racket.


So. Flowers. Those of you who have been around for a couple of years know that I have a lot of problems with flowers. When the garbagemen aren't throwing away my pots, other workmen are stomping on my dahlias, fat green things are eating my mini-roses or my parsley is mysteriously disappearing. It's been rough. (Those of you who like me ranting and talking in all-caps will really enjoy those entries.) But I carry on, because I love the flowers, and as Jay would say, "it's the triumph of hope over experience".

Last Tuesday, I went pansy shopping with my mommy. Drove up to Jersey with the top down. While there, I fell madly in love with some Campanula "Blue Wonder":

My mother bought me that. So now I'm all attached to it, and emotional about it, and fret over it constantly. I worry that I planted it wrong. I worry that it's going to freeze. I had to bring it inside because it is SNOWING ON MARCH 30, FOR CRYING OUT LOUD. I had to wear my miraculous coat on my walk today. Jeez.

I also bought a flat plus six-pack of pansies, for a grand total of 42 pansy plants. I spent the better part of Friday evening planting them in nearly every planter I owned. It was a bit much. My perfect husband came out and asked if I wanted some food, and at my request brought me a few slices of leftover London Broil and fed them to me, since my hands were full of dirt. He is, as always, wuuuuuuuuunderful.

Pansies are cold-weather flowers, but still I wasn't about to have the pansies freeze after all that freakin' work, so they're in the garage tonight. Once it warms up I'll show you how I arranged them on the porch and back deck.


So. Mark and Kit came to visit me yesterday! Or I should say visit "us", since I have a sneaking suspicion that they also wanted to verify the existence of the "elusive Poindexter". ;) This was a spontaneous last-minute thing and quite a surprise to me -- they actually wanted to make a day-trip of it.

First thing I did was take them out to get cheesesteaks and get them caught in a downpour. Go, me. When Gonzo and Jess were here, we called them while they were on the road and took orders so the I could pick up the steaks ahead of time, but I couldn't reach Kit and Mark.

We had to walk three blocks in pouring rain to get home. Mark gallantly offered me his flannel shirt (I was wearing a short-sleeve shirt) so I kept reasonably dry, but poor Kit's sweater (black v-neck, of course) got soaked. A photo of our drenched selves is at the bottom of this entry.

Since Kit and I are the same size, I lent her my favorite Canada t-shirt in honor of her trip to Toronto next week (a little fat guy saying "eh?" who was all over Vancouver tourist shops in 1999). For the photo shoot I lent her a -- you guessed it -- black v-neck sweater from the Gap that I hadn't worn yet. She also borrowed my black leather jacket to go to Dairy Queen. It is too cool that we are the same size and can trade clothes like that.

When we went to Dairy Queen, that time I provided them with umbrellas. Kit looked adorable clad in black with the leopard-print umbrella my sister-in-law gave me for Christmas, and and Mark gallantly shared his with me.

(Hilariously funny, libertarian, handsome, muscular, AND a considerate gentleman. Single ladies over age 22, are you paying attention?)

Basically we sat at my dining table and laughed all afternoon. I could get used to this. :)


And here we are, rained on. As Mark said, "At least it was a warm rain."


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!