FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2001-05-11 - 4:36 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Spin the Bottle", Juliana Hatfield?


As if garbagemen who mistake dirt-filled pots with germinating seeds in them for garbage isn't bad enough, now there's this:

This morning on my way out the door I stopped to see how my mini-roses were doing. I was going to take a picture once the bush was in full bloom. But there were only three open blooms, which was very odd because I'd seen over a dozen buds last week.

I looked closer, and some of the buds appeared to have been BITTEN INTO.

Looked a little more, and there, perched on top of a bud, munching away calmly as you please and oblivious to the angry human face hovering above it, was a VERY FAT light-green caterpillar.

That.
Little.
Fucker.

I batted him off the plant and onto the sidewalk and combed through the plant looking for any possible accomplices. I didn't find any. He has been eating and eating and eating -- I counted at least six ruined buds. And he didn't even finish some of them before moving on to another! Not only is he greedy, he's WASTING FOOD!

So I picked him up on the Giant saver card attached to my key ring, and took him across the street and threw him into the park, which has nothing but grass and evergreen bushes. So either he'll starve to death, or he'll have a miserable life eating boring grass. No flowers for you, you bastard.

If he doesn't find his way back to my roses, that is. I'll have to keep an eye out for him and for his friends. Might even have to spray the thing.

Ugh.

Here's the IM discussion from this morning:

Evie: AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Evie: A FAT UGLY LIGHT GREEN CATERPILLAR ATE ALL MY ROSE BUDS!!!!!!!!!!
Poindexter: Oh no!
Poindexter: You poor thing.
Evie: HE ATE OVER HALF OF THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Evie: FUCKER!!!!!!!!
Poindexter: I think this gardening thing is too stressful for you.

He might be right. I am mentally prepared for stuff to die on me, but not for people to throw my plants away or for tiny green gourmets to feast on them. Actually, I just need to adjust my preparedness for the worst, and learn to keep an eye out for pests.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!