FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2002-02-25 - 10:14 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: Theme from "M*A*S*H"


OK, I have a better idea. Rather than 20-minute entries this week, I'll maintain a "snippets" entry, where I'll just type little blurbs as they come up. Nice little two-minute break from work here and there.


I'm rather surprised, after a childhood listening to The Monkees and Top-40 Eighties music, to find that my two favorite bands are Nine Inch Nails and Tool. That's just disturbing. I can't stand to read the lyrics, though -- what a bunch of fucked-up ideas -- so not being able to hear them is a plus in this case. I just like the music.

I had a horrible day yesterday. Among a lot of other nitpicky little things that went wrong, I gave myself a 1"x4" bruise on my leg. I was closing the car door of the Honda, and for reasons that are explainable by the differences between that car and the Volkswagen but I shall not go into here, I didn't stand far enough clear of the door. So I whacked myself hard in the leg. It HURT! Because the Volkswagen has heavy doors, I have a tendency to slam pretty hard.

As a result of my erratic eating habits on vacation, I lost three pounds. Groan. Those are important pounds. Those are the ones I must have on me to lose if I catch the flu or something. So I'm trying to eat more than usual, which means I occasionally have to eat when I'm not hungry, which irritates me. In general I don't eat unless my stomach is demanding it, or if there are Girl Scout Thin Mints to be had. My Thin Mints haven't arrived yet. On the other hand, I'm eating more cheesy, greasy stuff, which I don't do so much anymore. I stopped eating that because, after watching my grandmother suffer with cardiovascular problems, I want to minimize the damage I'm doing to my own arteries.

Today I went to Burger King to get lunch. There were a couple of mentally retarded people working there. The one girl there opened the door for me! And when I was putting the cap on my drink, she handed me a straw! Goddamn, she made my day. I said to Poindexter, "If only everybody in the service industry took that much pride in their jobs!" I was seriously impressed.

It occurred to me that my disappointment with Philadelphia might partly be that I don't know it very well. I'm looking at it through DC-tinted goggles and it's messing up the view. I remember now that when I first came to DC, a trip through Northeast on the way to College Park was appalling and scary to me. Now I drive the SAME ROUTE, and I still see the same boarded-up houses, but for some reason it just LOOKS better to me now than it used to, and it doesn't look scary. Maybe the same thing will happen once I learn more about Philadelphia.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!