FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2000-07-27 - 10:41pm

On the internal soundtrack: "Fat-Bottomed Girls", by Queen. Earlier when I started it was "Southern Cross", by Crosby, Stills, and Nash.

Poindexter's coming home tomorrow. He's been gone for days and I haven't played any of my corny music that he hates. I better get started on that before my brother shows up. Brother Dear is coming into town for business, but he's coming down early and leaving late so he asked to crash here tonight and Saturday.

I put my music on. I can't write.

After listening to "Presque Rien", by Francis Cabrel, a song I mistakenly programmed and don't really like came on. That song, "Presque Rien", was playing in a cab when we were in Montreal. I remember the cabbie was young, blond, kinda cute, and probably stoned (there was a faint odor of pot in the cab). I asked him who it was, and he wrote the name down for me on a business card. I gave him a five-dollar tip for a seven-dollar cab ride, or something like that. I just adore this music and everytime I hear "Presque Rien" I remember walking in the misty rain with Poindexter that night.

I absolutely adore Montreal.

Listening to music is an all-or-nothing proposition for me. I'm amazed that people are able to work (mental tasks) and listen to music at the same time. To me that's like trying to have a focused conversation and work simultaneously. I can ignore the music and work, or I can listen to the music and ignore the work, but I can't do both.

I also pay very close attention to the music as it plays. If I learn to sing along (lip synch, actually, since I can't sing) with a song, I LEARN it. Some people just memorize the words and kind of stumble along with the music, which makes me crazy. I have to learn it EXACTLY. It's especially challenging if a song has weird rhythms or the singer takes a lot of liberty with the rhythm ("Sweet Transvestite", from Rocky Horror, took dozens of listenings before I could lip synch without screwing up).

In a similar sort of way, I "memorize" classical music and do a lot of "conducting" when I'm alone. At J&R's wedding they had a string quartet playing Vivaldi's "Four Seasons" before the ceremony and I practically had to sit on my hands.

I'm such a dork.

previous index next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!