FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2000-12-08 - 3:54pm

On the internal soundtrack: "Don't Let Me Down", again.


The problem with going back to my journal entries to edit out the "Open Pages" banner and such is that I see the song, right up there at the top, and it gets stuck in there again. Plus John Lennon died 20 years ago today, and it's all over Salon.

Oh, god. "It was twenty years ago today..."

Now I can probably expect a John Lennon/Beatles medley. Which really isn't so bad. Beats the HELL out of commercial jingles, from which escape is difficult, due to their very nature.

What I hate is how I can remember stupid jingles from years ago. Anybody remember "Diet Pepsi, just one calorie, now you see it, now you don't?" I get that one a lot.


God, I get sidetracked easily. I had a short list of things to mention in yesterday's entry (posted this morning) and never got to them. I'll do that now:

I went to CVS the other night, to get a few things. I had a handful of coupons and an armful of stuff to buy. I threw them all down on the counter. The cashier started to scan all the coupons, even though I didn't buy all the applicable products. When I pointed this out, belatedly, she voided one and I thought that was it.

I paid, threw stuff in my backpack, and started to leave. Then I noticed that there was a $5 deduction for two Colorstay products which I never actually bought. I had used up all the cash on me, and would have had to charge the $5, so I was sorely tempted to just go home. She screwed up, right, and the computer screwed up by allowing a coupon for something I didn't buy, right? That doesn't happen at Safeway!

Well, my conscience wouldn't let me. So I went back, showed it to the new store manager (Yay! The old one was a crabby grump.), who said,

"Oh, don't worry about it. Thanks for being honest."

Yeah! Five bucks off!

Kids, honesty pays off. Sometimes you get the $5 and a clear conscience at the same time.

I suppose if you have no conscience, it's irrelevant, but anyway.

On to more immediate, concrete, family-related fun stuff. We're taking the train to NJ again, to see Pop-Pop, and also Papa is staying at my parents' house on Saturday night, since they're only a couple hours from where he's staying on business. Should be lots of fun. We get to see MIL occasionally by herself (she's flown up twice alone), so it's nice that we get to see Papa too.


previous index next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!