FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2005-11-15 - 10:48 a.m.

To begin, a few bullet points:

- Pumpkin spice lattes from Starbucks do not reheat well. That sucks. Poindexter says "Of course they don't taste good the next day. They want you to come in and buy a fresh one." Fuckers.

- So, today I tried a peppermint mocha. I should have told them to hold the chocolate. I'll do that next time. Actually, maybe I should just have a peppermint steamer.

- I got to see LJers Cubicalgirl and Mdnitemarv TWICE in one week! I had been hoping to check out Marvin's ass, but he wore baggy jeans both times. Tonight at Tattooed Mom's (Taco Tuesday!), he was kind enough to pull the jeans up so I could enjoy the high tight shape of his ass. VERY NICE. I wiggled my butt at him when we left. If you can believe it, Poindexter came along too. He was already out of the house, you see, so he figured he might as well drop by.

- My dad, for reasons unknown, has always pronounced "theater" as "THAYiter". So when we had the projector on the bottom floor, we sometimes referred to it as the "thayiter room" as a sort of homage to my dad. But, as I mentioned in the previous post, Poindexter's been calling this new theater/office the "media room" (with air quotes) and I complained that it didn't have the same family in-joke sound to it. So I suggested we call it the "maydia room". That might work. My mom says we need a plaque above the door showing the correct pronunciation.

- I was busy working on Sunday night through my deadline this afternoon, so I completely ignored cooking, the housework, and my hopping around (aerobics with upper-body movement) and stretching. I had hoped that maybe my back stiffness was just some kind of fluke and I would be fine after two days without stretching, but I was wrong. There's no getting around it. I'm old enough that I have to do actual work to get my body to be half as comfortable/useful as it once was. I have not gotten over the shock of it yet. HOW CAN THIS BE HAPPENING TO ME!?!?

I had been trying to mentally compose a list of my little idiosyncrasies, but since one of my little idiosyncrasies is that I have a shitty memory, the mental composition didn't work so well. I managed to remember one of them, and then thought of a new one while Poindexter and I were finally cooking our meals for the week.

I think I've mentioned before that I'm fussy about what type of pasta to use for a given meal. In a situation that calls for rotini, I cannot use angel hair in a pinch; I have to go buy more rotini. Angel hair and linguine are not interchangeable either. I don't like spaghetti; it's too fat after having eaten San Giorgio cappellini during my entire childhood.

The one I remembered was this: I can't stand it when I have to go out of my way to do something and retrace my steps. One of the greatest things about living in the city is that there is almost ALWAYS a different route (usually more than one) that I can take to get home than I take to get where I'm going. This is a lot harder to do in the suburbs, where there is often only one way in and out of a neighborhood or shopping area. Here's another example: My parents live north of me in NJ. One time I was there, I wanted to stop by and get some beer for Poindexter at a store south of them, only slightly off my route home (I am not even sure where to buy beer in the city ... it's not at the wine/liquor stores, so where the hell is it?). My parents insisted that this store was too expensive and that I should go 10 minutes north and buy beer there. No freakin' way. I would rather pay more for beer than go in the opposite direction and spend 20 extra minutes in the car and waste so much time. I would've been OK with it if I could do a loop, but having to retrace the exact route would make me nuts.

The other idiosyncrasy came up when I was putting the utensils away from the dishwasher. I noticed that I always put them away in a specific order: Steak knives, regular knives, regular forks, salad forks, spoons. So I asked Poindexter, who sometimes empties the dishwasher for me, "Do you have a particular order for the utensils?"

He then gave me an exhaustive tour of the silverware drawer in which he described which utensils he used for what, how he'll use the lone Mickey Mouse spoon for jelly and the other spoons for coffee and won't use his old black-handled spoons at all (the spoon part always falls out of the handle but I keep them for emergencies). I specifically use the Mickey spoon for jelly too. Funny how that works.

When he was finished with the tour, I clarified my earlier question and got the answer I was originally going for. He uses some sort of grabbing method I don't understand so I'll have to watch him next time he puts away the utensils. He insists it's more efficient than my method.

I am also picky about actual utensil usage. I use a regular fork for salad. NOT a "salad fork". Salad forks are for cake, cut-up Asian pears, and little tiny plates of things. Regular forks are for when I use a dinner plate. I don't like it when I run out of the preferred type of fork and have to use the other. I use a steak knife anytime anything needs to be cut up, including meat and salad. The only thing I'll use a regular table knife for is spreading peanut butter on my muffin or when I'm out of steak knives.

Speaking of muffins, I just discovered the "multi-grain" and "12-grain" Thomas English muffins and I love them!! I make a PB sandwich with it and then eat half an Asian pear with it instead of having jelly and that's been my breakfast for the last two months. I get pretty excited about breakfast these days.

And finally, I was trading bruise pictures with LJer smjayman and finally turned up this picture of my road rash from the time I fell rollerblading. I fell because I was extremely tired (I had been skating too long, past my limit really) and my ankle muscles were no longer strong enough to catch my fall. That was the last time I pushed myself too hard skating, and I refuse to do it dirt biking either, no matter how much fun I'm having in either case.

That hurt. I couldn't lay on that side while sleeping for a couple of days, which sucked.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!