FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2005-11-12 - 10:46 a.m.

November 2, 2005

I'm testing the insert-photo feature with this picture Poindexter took of me while we were in WV. He was laughing at me because I was holding my large salad bowl[1] (it's clear, hard to see) in the crook of my left arm while holding a book in that hand, with the fork in the other hand. I told him if he was so amused, he should take a picture. So of course he waited for me to take a bite to make the picture as amusing to him as possible.

I don't like how LJ gives the pictures stupid names and shrinks them LJer TDJ pointed out, I can delete some text and have it display the original full-size picture). I'm waffling on using this.

[1] I need a big salad bowl so I can have a decent-sized salad and be able to toss it thoroughly without leaves jumping over the sides.


November 12, 2005

I want to write about all the fun stuff I've been doing lately, but my journal voice is not "on", so I am going to try making a list.

- Pumpkin spice latte from Starbucks!!!!! OMG!!!!!!!!!1 I didn't realize that lattes were mostly milk and sugar or I would have been drinking these things for years. I am saving half for tomorrow. Next I want to try the Peppermint Mocha.

- Poindexter is prepping the guest room for it's transition into the "media room" (he always uses air quotes and raises his eyebrows when he says this). We have picked out a lovely warm light brown color (the color of a latte, actually) for the walls, and will use the same color a couple shades lighter for the trim. The existing carpet is a cream color. Benjamin Moore color samples are SO FRICKIN' AWESOME. They helped us decide how dark we wanted to go.

Evelynne: [Noticing P is wearing his shooting eye protection as he pulls off closet trim we're not keeping] Hey, I'm glad you're protecting your pretty blue eyes.
Poindexter: Of course. I like my pretty blue eyes.
Evelynne: Do you mean aesthetically or practically?
Poindexter: Both!

- Had sushi with Camille at the fantastic Shiroi Hana a few weeks ago. I have always found sushi quite edible but nothing to get excited about, whereas some people experience a state of intense bliss when they eat it. Camille was no exception. She looked so blissful I felt I should avert my eyes. I had a spicy tuna roll that had bunches of interesting flavors wrapped up in it, so that each bite tasted different. Poindexter will be dragged forcefully out of the house at some point to go to this restaurant.

- At our last dentist appointment, when Poindexter came back to the waiting room:

Poindexter: The hygenist told me he should get an electric toothbrush.
[I have one and love it, but he refuses to get one.]
Evelynne: HA! Why?
Poindexter: Apparently I'm incompetent at manual brushing.
Evelynne: Well, you can try mine and see if you like it.
Receptionist: What kind do you have?
Evelynne: Oh, gosh, I forget ... Oral B, maybe? It was cheap, I got it at the grocery store at Christmastime.
Receptionist: I have the Sonicare. It's expensive, like $100
Evelynne: Wow. How do you like it?
Receptionist: It's great, I love it.

The next day, in the kitchen:

Evelynne: I have extra brush heads for my toothbrush, so you can try that, and if you like it I'll get you one. It's only about $30. Unless you want the more expensive one. But I don't know exactly how much better an electric toothbrush can get that you'd want to pay $100 for it. Though the receptionist seems to like hers.
Poindexter: No kidding. How enthusiastic of a reaction was that? When she said, "It's great, I love it" I thought, "What else is she using it for?"

As it happens, Poindexter is even MORE incompetent with an electric toothbrush. He can barely brush because it tickles him too much. Oh well. I like mine because I am lazy, plus the timer forces me to brush for the appropriate amount of time.

- Halloween was kinda dull, unfortunately. Nobody on my street except me was passing out candy, which was hardly an inviting atmosphere. I got a neighbor, a group I remembered from last year, some faceless guy in a red cape, and that was it. Very pretty princess dresses on all the girls, though. Poindexter thinks that the Halloween tradition of going door-to-door is dying. I do not want to hear this. I'll just have to find a better trick-or-treating neighborhood next year.

- I went to the [TMI ALERT]vagina[/ALERT] doctor last week for a routine checkup. I just picked a location covered by my insurance that was within walking distance that seemed to have a number of doctors in it and asked them to give me a doctor who didn't mumble. Well, when I arrived, I realized that it was a nonprofit clinic for women and children. This was cool for me personally, since if I'm able to pay full price I might as well give my dollars to a place that helps folks who are less well-off. But I was a bit freaked out at first that since I was not in financial need, that I shouldn't have been there, though they did ask my income level and I assume they have some kind of sliding scale fee system. But I'm definitely going to be going back, because my doctor was freaking AWESOME. I loved her. I've never been this comfortable with a doctor before. Does anybody know what the difference is between a clinic and a private practice? As far as I can tell, this particular clinic is run by residents. I guess if I had any serious conditions I might want a doctor with more experience, but for a basic preventive exam I don't think I care. I will probably want to follow my resident if she goes elsewhere after she finishes her residency, but for the time being I want to continue to go there.

- While I was in the waiting room, a the male half of a couple in front of me asked me to take a picture of them with his cell phone. The woman seemed a bit embarrassed, but he seemed kinda excited. I didn't want to pry, but I wondered if this was her first prenatal visit or something and he wanted to commemorate the occasion. It was very sweet.

- Poindexter's hair is getting long and he is even more handsome than usual. Guh.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!