FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2005-01-03 - 11:00 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: An old Skippy jingle


December 29

Daddygod's post from last week reminded me of something I kept forgetting to post. Courtesy of my friend Callie, I have photographic representation of the sort of moment some of us kilt-lovers are secretly hoping for. Which is not to say that we don't enjoy kilts immensely when they're hanging properly, but still...

Not work safe, but not the full monty either.

I will be forever grateful to Callie for sending me that lovely photograph. And before you men get all worked up, recall that this is also an occupational hazard of wearing a skirt, and is the reason why I make sure I'm wearing pretty underwear when I wear one.

And Daddygod, I almost bought you a t-shirt today that said "HANG OUT WITH YOUR WANG OUT", since my default mental image of you is of you on vacation, and we know what that means. But the shirt appeared to be available only in child sizes. Bizarre. The "large" looked like it would be a tight fit on me.


January 3

So, the holidays are over and it looks like January will be a very quiet month for me, so I'm going to make a mini-resolution: I resolve to write at least one journal entry every day for the next 31 days. I would've said "for the month of January" but I was too busy snuggling and watching movies on the 1st and 2nd. So now through February 2nd, I'll be around. Also, as a result of all the pictures I'm taking for Mark to use for COTD, I may have enough outtakes to do a "gratuitous picture of the day" kinda thing too.

So, to begin, a few Christmas highlights:

------

Dad and Stepmom went to the bakery while they were here, and came back with a variety of Christmas cookies. One of them did not scream "Christmas!" to me at all. It was this one:

What, exactly, does this look like to you? To me that is clearly a ghost. A Christmas Ghost. Maybe the Ghost of Christmas Past. There was some speculation that it was a snow-covered tree, but those look like arms, not branches. Finally it occurred to me after taking this picture that it might be an angel. That would explain the fluttery bottom -- it's like a skirt. I think it's supposed to be an angel, but I'm going to continue to call it the Ghost cookie, and at any rate, it's the cutest Christmas cookie I've seen yet.

-------

I am pleased to report that continued practice with the Eggstractor has resulted in a higher probability of eggstraction success. I gave the Eggstractor to my brother for Christmas, and he was quite amused, and a couple days later we performed another experiment. We boiled the eggs for less than 8 minutes this time, and did not leave them in the water for so long.

I discovered that if someone holds the Eggstractor stand in place (so the force of me pressing on the Eggstractor doesn't make it move), my puny arms actually exert just enough pressure to eggstract an egg perfectly. My brother was exerting too much force when the stand was held in place, so he exploded a few. Out of a eleven eggs, we eggstracted 7 perfectly, 3 imperfectly, and 1 was peeled by hand when my father became agitated at the sorry state of the eggs (this was before I started eggstracting perfectly). I think with another couple practice sessions I would be able to consistently eggstract perfect eggs.

-------

And lastly, I'd like you all to see the marvelous scarf that Dulcevox made and sent to me. So gorgeous. It's very soft, too. She's making me another one, in periwinkle, and I'll take some photos of that when it arrives too.


OK, so, on Saturday I went to Strawbridges and spent four hours in the store. I bought some Christmas presents for next year, I bought two Pucci-style-print shirts for $4 each, I bought a sensible brown hat for $16, and then I bought, well, this, also for $16:

border = 0>

When I showed it to Poindexter, I said, "There's no excuse for this hat, but..." and he looked at me and said, "No, there's no excuse." I think that means he doesn't like it. I myself am waffling. On the one hand -- PINK TWEED! On the other -- bright pink tweed?! I love the shape of it, but it's so loud. But then, I am loud. Oh hell, I like it. Even while I see how awful it is.

I think at this point I've had it on my head for so long while I waffle that even if it is a mistake, I'm stuck with it and at least it was only $16. Better than a $36 mistake (original price), right?

As a concession to Poindexter's delicate sensibilities, I did tell him I wouldn't wear it when he was around. :)



previous index next









about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!