FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2004-08-29 - 9:00 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "99 Luftballoons"


Well, after avoiding him for four years or so out of abject fear of somehow ending up on the receiving end of a barrage of his notoriously devastating insults, I finally got up the courage to meet Phanatic last night when he and Obifu dropped by the city while I was actually home. (For a change! Last time he invited me out was when Ernunnos was in town and I was in Florida, then when Madbard came through Philadelphia I was in Florida, so I'm thinking I really just want to STAY HOME MORE, THANKS.)

I was a complete doofus and forgot to ask to have my picture taken with him before I left, so you'll have to take my word for it that he does NOT look at ALL like the man in his usericons. I did, however, get Phanatic to take a picture of me with a guy who had been freaking both of us out all evening due to his resemblance to ... well, see for yourself:

Those of you who haven't met him yourself might want to look at Ernunnos's "Me" usericon.

Pretty freaky, eh? Too bad it wasn't really him.

Both guys were friendly and warm and made me feel quite welcome, so apparently my fears were baseless. ;) Plus it was worth going just to watch the two of them eat the hot wings that came with a warning label. Equal measures of pain and bliss, it looked like. :)


OK, update.

Work-wise, last week was horrible. Next week also promises to be horrible. It *might* be mostly over by next week. Cross your fingers.

Since last week was so horrible, I shut work off at 6pm on Friday, declared we would not be cooking until worked calmed down, and said I wasn't going to do anything all weekend that wasn't fun. And so I haven't, with the exception of shaving my legs. Although even that is better now since Evelknievel and Peter suggested that I use CONDITIONER instead of shaving cream. HOLY COW. Not only does it irritate my skin less than shaving cream, but it gives me a CLOSER shave and SMELLS better. Part of what I hated about shaving was the smell of shaving cream. Now I just smell raspberries or vanilla. MUCH better.

Saturday morning I opened the door to head out to the farmer's market and encountered this (ARACHNOPHOBES DO NOT CLICK!!!!!!!!) It was particularly funny to me considering that the night before, while Charlotte was spinning that thing, I was making fun of the girls on Fear Factor who were crying about having to lay in a tank full of tarantulas for two minutes. I just don't get freaked out by spiders. I think they are awesome. If it were cockroaches, though, I would've been crying along with them.

My front door is inside an alcove, maybe five feet wide and eight feet high. The main web was about a foot in diameter, and it was attached with strings reaching to the corners of the alcove so that I could not leave the house without walking right into the web. It was just amazing. I'm glad the sunlight was hitting it so that I could see it.

Asian pears are here, first of the season, and my GOD they are GOOD.

Made some salsa with the tomatoes I bought, onions, soap cilantro, splash of vinegar, lime juice, and half a jalapeno my mom gave me last week:

Poindexter LOVES it. As a California native, his life hasn't been complete without fresh salsa, and Philadelphia hasn't really discovered it yet. I don't know why it didn't occur to me sooner to just make it myself. It's a special treat to be able to make something for him that involves no effort on his part, since he is head chef here.

Saturday night before meeting Phanatic and Obifu, I sat on a bench and people-watched in Rittenhouse Square for a while. I saw four hot chicks in slinky dresses and spike heels, and hereby resolved to learn how to wear high heels once in a goddamn while. They really looked fantastic. Also amusing in Rittenhouse Square are doggies and small children, but the hot chicks dressed up for evening were a real treat.

I was just interrupted by a semi-emergency involving obtaining a videotape to tape a movie of great sentimental value to the family, so I gotta stop here and go get ready for bed. Will try to dribble out some more after Tuesday.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!