FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2004-05-30 - 9:47 p.m.

May 17th

Our new policy is not to open the front door to anyone we don't know, because we're tired of people trying to scam us or get signatures for vague things we don't want to put our signature on.

Some guy from the DNC came by tonight, and I said, "I'm sorry, I'm a libertarian; I don't think I'll be much help to you." He started rambling about something about keeping Bush from getting reelected and I said, "I'm sorry," and shut the window. I'm not giving money to the DNC, period.

Then Poindexter comes home and the doorbell rings again. It's the same guy, but he's got a woman with him, and this time the woman does the talking. Poindexter was in fine form.

DNC gal: ...we're forming the largest grass-roots--
Poindexter: The *largest*? Really!? How do you know?
DNC gal: We can tell. The--
Poindexter: How big was the next largest grassroots campaign?
DNC gal: Well, it was over three states, and we've spread our campaign over 17 states--
Poindexter: If it's across 17 states, is it really a grassroots campaign anymore?
DNC gal: Well, it's grassroots in the sense that we're going door-to-door... so you could help--
Poindexter: I can? How can I help?
DNC gal: By making a donation.
Poindexter: Oh, I couldn't do that. We're libertarians.
DNC gal: Well, we need to get Bush out of office.
Poindexter: I don't care to trade one form of oppressive government for another.
DNC gal: Well, as long as you're not voting for Bush!

At that point they gave up and left.

I wonder how much luck these people have persuading non-Democrats to give them money. I mean, come on. Why waste your time? Why not go on to the next house, where there might be Democrats or other types of Bush-haters who would be more than happy to help get him out of office? I don't get it. Especially since, if campaign posters are any indication, this city is full of people who were all excited about Howard Dean.


May 20th

This morning I was returning from the drugstore with a bag of three 2-liter Coke bottles slung over my shoulder (like Santa!) and a bag containing two boxes of dishwasher detergent in my hand, checking out the people as I always do.

I have mentioned before that as far as the eye candy goes, there aren't many men I turn to look at on the street in Philadelphia. Part of the problem is that I only turn to look at men with hair that moves, and the vast majority of men in this city seem to prefer the crewcut look, or at least something conservative to the point of being invisible to me.

Of the hair-that-moves subset, I will not turn to look at a guy with unkempt hair (stringy, greasy, etc.), thus ruling out a lot of the long-hairs in the "artsy" crowd.

Factor in that I consider my husband to be The Best-Looking Man In The World By A Wide Margin, and I don't get much male eye candy. It's sad, really. I like to look at the girlies, but a handsome long-haired man to look at is a special treat that only happens a few times a year.

So imagine my delight when I spied walking toward me a very tall, very strong-looking, broad-shouldered goth in his mid-twenties, with a strong jaw, black hair about four-five inches long all around with a slight wave to it, wearing knee-length black shorts so baggy that at first I thought he was wearing a kilt.

I checked him out unabashedly as I stopped by the newspaper dispenser to pick up a Philadelphia Weekly, smiling a little since I was enjoying the view, when the plastic bag chose that moment to break and drop a Coke bottle onto the pavement.

So then I had to put the bags down, pick up the bottle, try to figure out what to do, and the next thing you know I'm looking at a pair of knees as he picks up the newspaper I dropped and handed it to me. By the time I said thank you and picked everything up again, he was gone.

Goddammit.

I get the first good piece of eye candy I've seen in weeks and I get a closeup of his knees.

When I told Poindexter about it later, I mentioned that if I'd been single I could have either been embarrassed or turned it into an opportunity (or both), but instead I was just pissed off to be deprived of my eye candy.


May 30th

I just saw Amanda on C-SPAN!

I was not even looking for her -- my husband was channel surfing and stopped on C-SPAN, which is showing the LP convention. Just after the first-round results were announced, I saw her on there hugging somebody. NEATO!


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!