FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2003-11-05 - 10:31 a.m.

Thursday, October 30

Everything's fine. Sorry if anyone was worrying. I'm just busy, in a good way. Here's some blather for ya:

In the car this morning, I looked out the window and saw a cute little coffee shop. It looked so cosy and warm. I said to Poindexter, "I wish I were a coffee person. I would love to be able to go to the coffee shop every morning and have a cup of coffee."

And Poindexter -- who used to be a hardcore coffee person but quit because it started to disagree with him -- wistfully said, "Yeah." Then, "We could be young and hip again."

It was only 8am but that set me off into a fit of laughter. I don't know that we've ever BEEN hip.

Later that morning I got a reply e-mail from the orchard saying that yes, indeed, I could buy Asian pears from them by the BUSHEL. I was over the moon with excitement

you can see why I'm not journaling lately -- my life revolves around Asian pears

and IM'd Poindexter about it. "WOOHOO!! A *BUSHEL*!! And we get a DISCOUNT!!"

To which my husband replied, " Is there anything young and hip about ordering a bushel of pears at a discount?"

And finally, passing another coffee shop on the way home from the library this afternoon, I realized that being a coffee person has nothing to do with it. I'm too big of a MISER to go to a coffee shop every morning. I'd probably buy my own fancy beans and grind them rather than pay someone else to do it. Sigh.

So I'm a miserly, non-coffee-drinking, Asian-pear freak. Ain't nothing hip about it.

In lieu of further actual content, since I am still very busy, I present you with a smashing picture of and me. This is the obligatory "LJers in Front of the Fireplace" photo, with the obligatory bit of my belly peeking, as it always does in those jeans. Isn't Nik a hottie? I love his hat.


November 5

I got my new hearing aids today. I haven't had much of a chance to test 'em yet, seeing as how I work alone. I did notice that the turn signal in the truck was ... well, it makes a noise. Also, we tested the directional microphone thing in the office, and that is REALLY COOL. Almost completely blocks out background sounds.

But the coolest thing, by far, which I never even stopped to think about, was this:

Evelynne: We can test tonight with the TV on behind me and such. I could try music.
Poindexter: Yeah! Put on some MEGADETH!
Evelynne: That wasn't what I had in mind.

[Digression while we talk about Grant Fuhr's induction into the hockey hall of fame and bitch about Street's reelection. Eventually I do put the music on, using MP3s on Poindexter's computer.]

Evelynne: OH MY FUCKING GOD. MUSIC IS *AMAZING*.
Evelynne: OH MY GOD
Poindexter: COOL!
Poindexter: COOOOOL!
Evelynne: It's better than it used to be with the music program.
Evelynne: It's like it's right… oh wow
Evelynne: I'm getting all teary.
Evelynne: Wow.
Poindexter: LOL
Evelynne: I'm using your little dinky speakers.
Evelynne: I'm over at MY DESK
Poindexter: cool
Evelynne: And it's like I've got the speakesr right next to my ears.
Poindexter: What are you playing?
Evelynne: "What You Are"?
Evelynne: Audioslave
Poindexter: Can you hear more notes?
Evelynne: I might.
Evelynne: I'm just astonished at the clarity. It's unbelievable.
Evelynne: It's like switching from a scratchy tape with no bass to my Dad's surround system.
Evelynne: It's INCREDIBLE.
Evelynne: I don't think the volume's that loud either.
Evelynne: The dot is at about 10:00
Poindexter: Wow
Evelynne: That's not very loud?
Poindexter: Not too loud.
Poindexter: I listen, at my desk, around 9:00
Evelynne: WOOOOOOOOOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Poindexter: lol
Evelynne: Maybe I will learn to appreciate Megadeth now.

I wish I could adequately explain what a drastic difference this is. The scratchy tape/surround sound analogy is probably pretty close. Imagine if you'd had to listen to a scratchy tape recorder for years and years (even at other people's houses) and then you got a surround sound system for your birthday. Kinda like that. Just listening to his little computer speakers with these new aids is better than Dad's system with my old aids.

I don't think I've *ever* had music sound that good, now that I think about it, even when my hearing was not quite so bad.



previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!