FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2003-09-25 - 5:53 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack:


Saturday, September 20

MIL and Vixen are here!!!!

Vixen (the dog) has made herself right at home. She's a tad neurotic so I was worried she'd be freaked out, but she seems really comfortable. She loves Poindexter and seems to remember him -- MIL calls us "The Couch People" because we sit on the couch with her so much.

MIL is beyond delighted with everything we've done with the house. She keeps commenting on how lovely everything is. Her room, the rearranged living room, the back deck, etc. etc. She is also extremely impressed and proud of the organization of the closets and such. Makes what caused my little temper tantrum last night worthwhile. :) Plus, I am happy with the house too.


Thursday, September 25

All right, I'm too busy with work, the MIL, and the dog to be LJing, so we get some fluff. Last time it was place names, now it's regional colloquialisms. Tell me some phrases or words you recently learned that you NEVER HEARD BEFORE, that NOBODY USES where you live, and suspect the reason is that they're regional expressions.

"skosh", which I learned about 3 years ago. It is short for the Japanese word "sukoshi" and means the same thing in both languages: a little bit. I believe this is a west coast word, since I've only heard it used by west coasters.

"chones", which I just learned THIS MORNING. Means "underwear". Appears to be a Mexican/Chicano colloquialism. Again, West Coast, or probably anywhere near Mexico.

And an expression I heard recently: "high cotton", which Kitiara used like an exclamation, apparently meaning "fancy and elaborate and costing a lot" Apparently has something to do with more cotton meaning more money for the farmer and therefore more money for fanciness. Since the US grows cotton in the South, I'm guessing this is a Southern colloquialism.

And of course, there's the Philadelphia expression for what everyone else says as "going to the beach". Here they say, "I'm going down the shore." And it's the Jersey Shore, not the beach. Is it the "shore" anywhere else on the coastline of this country?!

Edit: Scott gave me an AWESOME link to maps of dozens of dialect differences.

Also, does anybody else say "Down cellar"? (Instead of "in the basement".)

Edit2: Particularly interesting in the maps linked above is the word for the sandwich on a long roll, etc. Here in Philly this is HOAGIE. Near Boston it's "grinder". It's very, very localized (look at the map). I grew up saying "hoagie". When I first moved back here to Philly (after 7 years in VA and CA), I asked for a "sub" in a sandwich shop and they didn't understand what I had said.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!