FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2003-02-10 - 4:47 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Peg o' My Heart"


Randomness:

One more rant about my neighbors in the snow: Y'know what? The FIRST THING my across-the-street neighbor did when he came out was hit the little pine tree by his door with his shovel, so that all the snow came off. I couldn't believe it. One of the nicest things about snow is how it sits on the trees. ARGH.

Y'know what bugs me? Is when I'm almost finished with a box of cereal, and when I go to pour some into my bowl, and the interior bag falls into the bowl. This is okay on the first bowl, before I've put milk in, but extremely annoying on subsequent bowls.

I've finally caved, many years late, and decided to go ahead and download songs that I have no intention of ever buying. I am not paying $13+ for an album that contains one song I heard in the '80s, when I'm not interested in or dislike the other songs. I'm just not. I will say that if they ever come up with a "Pay a fee and download whatever songs you want", I will be first in line to pay it. Not my fault if they haven't come up with this yet.

On Saturday, shortly after exercising our marital rights, we were hungry but there was no food in the house. So we went to the local diner for a hamburger. We just sat there and stared at each other with vague sleepy smiles on our faces for most of the meal. I wondered whether it was obvious to anyone what the reason for the vague sleepy smiles was.

What's the deal with this snow that isn't sticking? Dammit.

Word is my brother made it up and down the five flights with no trouble at all. Yay! He's probably going to start thinking about moving back to New York soon, then.

I was saying to Poindexter today that we have moved so many times that I cannot really fathom living anywhere for very long. I think I mentioned in an earlier journal entry that since we moved in together six years ago, we've moved five times. YICK. I said that I'd like to stay someplace (i.e., here) for a long time, but I just couldn't imagine it. Said Poindexter, "Yep. It's my dream." He said it for a laugh, but it's true.


Hm, I think this section probably requires a TMI alert, but it's not too bad.

So, one of the ongoing "arguments" I have with Poindexter is over scratching.

Let me clarify first that he doesn't do the most typical of male scratching, for which I am most grateful. At least not in front of me. It's because of his sensitive dry skin, because it's winter.

And in the interest of fairness, I scratch, too, but mainly when I've waxed my legs and it's growing back in, or a couple days after shaving my legs. Poindexter, though, god bless him, immediately begins scratching as soon as he gets in bed at night, and keeps doing it for about ten minutes. There's something about taking his clothes off that makes the itching start up in earnest, so all during our winding-down/talking time before going to sleep, he's scratching, and I'm yelling "STOP SCRATCHING!". Sometimes we wrestle over it, wherein I try to keep him from scratching. Given his superior upper-body strength, I invariably lose. But I digress.

So, part of the problem was that we were out of Dove and he'd been using my Ivory for a while, which is too drying. We got him some, and then I also wondered if there was a lotion soap that would work. So yesterday in the grocery store, I was looking at the soaps and picked up some Jergens body wash. I needed to sniff it, to make sure it wasn't too girly.

So, I pick it up, flip the cap, and squeeze it ever-so-slightly to make the air in the top puff out.

Except it wasn't the air that came out. It was some soap. And my nose was only an inch away.

So I'm standing in the middle of the aisle with whitish liquid soap all over my nose. I have no doubt it looked like a gigantic wet booger.

Happily, I had a few tissues in my pocket, but it wasn't easy getting the stuff off. The tissue doesn't absorb it, it just sort of moves it around. So I was standing there with a gigantic wet stubborn "booger" on my nose, channeling that time in first grade when I was trying to get rid of a real booger using my shirtsleeve while a bus full of older boys laughed at me.

Fortunately, no one in the store seemed to notice, which is good, because by that time I was laughing at myself. Crazy lady with a booger on her nose.

Anyway, the scent was FAR too girly, so I didn't buy anything. Instead, immediately after Poindexter's shower, I put non-girly-scented lotion all over his entire body, including his hairy legs (no easy feat). I was going to do a controlled experiment and only do one leg, to see if it made a difference, but he said, "Hey, that was nice! Do the other one!" so I did.

Later, I saw him standing in the doorway with his shirt open, and I said, "Hey ... your skin is ... it's not blotchy [from scratching]!" I was so used to seeing the blotches that I didn't notice them until they were gone. Apparently the lotion really made a difference.

Now, of course, he wants me to get up earlier so I can lotion him down after his shower in the morning before work.


Gratuitous photo of the day:

Since it's Monday, I'll go with a tart pic. This one ought to please both the belly and butt contingents, not to mention fans of EVIL-LYN.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!