FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2002-07-08 - 4:07 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: A hippy-dippy acoustic guitar version of the "hosanna in the highest" bit from the Catholic Mass.

I have no idea how this song got into my head. Back in the late Seventies, I used to have to put up with weird acoustic-guitar versions of all the sing-able parts of the Mass. They made me nuts, partly because they made the Mass drag on interminably while these singers stoked their egos performing for a captive audience. You could tell they thought they were the coolest thing ever, playing their guitars and singing.

I don't have any objection, per se, to singers wanting to stoke their egos. And I suppose we need SOMEBODY to sing at Mass. But it always bothered me, having singers doing that in church. It reminded me of the story about the guy praying on the street corner versus the guy praying quietly at home, and how the latter was more appropriate in God's eyes.


Heavy sigh

I've spent the morning freaking out about the wisdom tooth thing. I'm scared. Dammit. I went online looking for information on why I couldn't use straws, and found a bunch of horror stories instead. At least, at this point, my expectations are so bad that the reality's gotta be better.

I'm trying to make a list of high-calorie mushy foods, so that I can be well-prepared. I don't want to lose ten pounds like a friend of mine did. So far on my list:

- scrambled eggs (with melted cheddar, yum)
- garlic mashed potatoes
- chicken noodle soup

I'm actually not a big soup fan. Sigh. I'm thinking of making chili without meat. Beans are squishy, and so are the vegetables.

Renee says she ate Spaghettios for a week when she had her wisdom teeth removed as a teenager. I'm not sure I can eat Spaghettios. I suppose I can try. If I'm desperately hungry enough, I could probably eat anything.

If I get really desperate for food, though, I will just put normal food in the blender and make homemade baby food. I can't begin to imagine what chicken panang would taste like as a puree, but I guess I'll find out.

Oh, and the reason you can't use straws is because the sucking might loosen the clot. Lovely.


More of that "Welcome To The Big City" stuff.

On Friday afternoon, we got a call from the parking lot where we park Poindexter's truck. Apparently the truck had been broken into the night before. Lovely. It happened sometime late on the Fourth of July. Happy Independence Day to you too, asshole.

Poindexter was pissed at first. My reaction was more resigned. I had figured we'd have to work this sort of thing into our budget. Now I'm wondering if we should just do something to disable the ignition and leave the car unlocked, to prevent the broken windows. I don't know.

Poindexter was resigned as well, by the time we got to the lot. The guy who works in the lot, however, was royally pissed on our behalf and kept asking if we wanted to report it to the police. We didn't see much point.

Only one thing was missing, and that was a very small socket wrench set. Poindexter figures it had slid out from under the seat during driving and that was why they picked his truck. I have a full socket wrench set of my own for the VW, so we won't need to buy another set, at least.

The weirdest thing about it all is that the window they broke had a small cling decal of the American flag. They took that too. That made me madder than the loss of the tools.


On Friday night, I took a half an allergy pill before bed. When I woke up on Saturday, I was still woozy from the pill. The effect didn't wear off until late Saturday evening, after TWO NAPS. The first was 2.5 hours and the second 1.5 hours. I basically spent all day sleeping. Jeez.

The nifty part about the naps is that the computer fairy visited!

My company bought me, as part of the new "Philadelphia office", a multifunction machine (printer, copier, fax, scanner). I didn't really think I needed one, but the two other telecommuters in the company have 'em, so they made me get one too. It had arrived last Wednesday.

After the first nap, the machine was out of its box and assembled!

And after the second nap, it was on the computer table, hooked up, and functioning!

Amazing how that happens!


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!