FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2002-07-05 - 3:40 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Throwing It All Away", Genesis


Well, if you've been reading my LiveJournal you know I'm in a tizzy about a house we looked at and are planning to make a bid on. In the interest of not having descriptions of "the one that got away" boring me to death when I'm reading my journal five years from now, I'm going to wait and see if we get it before describing it.

The thing that's most amazing about it, though, is that I had a handful of things that I would really like to have, but was willing to compromise on, if necessary. With this house, I don't need to compromise on anything.

eek.


When we were waiting for the elevator last night, Poindexter decided to run back for water. The elevator came while he was gone, and it was full of people. An ADORABLE little boy, maybe three years old, was at the front, and he started to get out. Everybody in the elevator started saying, "No, we're not there yet!"

I bent down and extended my hand to sort of direct him back to the elevator, and he looked up at me with big brown eyes and took my hand.

I just about melted on the spot. I was ready to pick him up, get on the elevator, and abandon Poindexter. He could find his own way to the roof.

I managed to control myself, however, and got him back on the elevator with his family. I saw him upstairs later, and he waved and smiled and said hello. Very friendly kid. I wonder what makes a kid so trusting and open that he'll take a strange girl's hand like that? Whatever it was, I liked it. It's a shame that we have to be so wary of strangers nowadays.


The reason we were waiting for the elevator was to go up to the roof of our building to watch the fireworks over the Art Museum. For some reason I was strangely detached during the display. Maybe because they were about a mile away, and because the crowd on the roof was kinda quiet.

I think I prefer to be on the ground, directly underneath, with a bunch of people ooh-ing and ahh-ing.

I ALSO prefer not to have my view blocked by some RUDE teenagers who start SMOKING in front of me, leaving me to SPEND ALL DAY TODAY SNEEZING!!!!!!

There was this one corner that appeared that it would have the best view. Everyone who had arrived early had maintained a decent distance (about 10 feet) from this corner so that everyone could share the view.

Three latecomers came over and plastered themselves against the fencing, BLOCKING the view for all those people who had been so polite.

Those ASSHOLES. I wanted to say something, but once the fireworks started I realized they weren't blocking it as much as I had thought they would. Plus an old man with a camera kept bugging them to move one way or the other so he could get pictures, which made me feel better.

WE were sitting against a WALL so that we weren't blocking ANYBODY'S view.

My, I'm angry. And then there was the smoking and posing they were doing. And Poindexter told me later that when the fireworks started, the chick's cell phone rang, playing some annoying song, and she went through some whole production digging through her bag and getting it opened. And guess who was on the phone? Someone watching the fireworks from the ground. Gah.

Remind me, next time I'm exposed to ANY cigarette smoke, even if I'm outdoors, to take an allergy pill when I go to bed that night. I woke up sneezing at 7am and haven't stopped since. Argh.

I could go on a rant about how incredibly STUPID I think smoking is, or about misuse of cell phones, but I'm too busy blowing my nose to make the effort. I'm worn out and need a nap.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!