FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2002-03-05 - 9:32 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: The song from the opening titles of "Sling Blade"


Well, folks, guess who's a blonde?

Well, not quite, but it sure looked like that to me when I first saw it.

Last Thursday, I went to the Andre Chreky salon for my last visit before we move. I was sad. I told everyone goodbye so they wouldn't think I'd abandoned them for another salon.

I decided to get my highlights refreshed, and since they were really subtle last time, I decided to ask for "less subtle highlights". Obviously the term "less subtle" is quite a subjective interpretation, because, well, you decide for yourself.

You might remember this "before" picture:

Here's what I looked like when I got back from the salon:

WOO! I'm practically Barbie!

It took me a few days to get used to it, but I think I like it. What I'm not going to like is having to touch it up all the time, so once the roots get too obvious I'm going to have them dye it back to my natural color or something.

BTW, take a look at this picture:

Maybe you can see why I get so worked up about my glasses giving me beady eyes. Although at this point, I'm so used to myself in glasses that when I wear contacts, my eyes look TOO big to me now, as though I am a character in one of those anime movies.


When I first arrived at the salon, there was a woman sitting at one of the manicure tables. She was very tall, very thin, with dark brown hair in a bob that was shorter in the back than the front. She was wearing a spandex exercise outfit and running shoes.

I looked at her, and I thought, Who is that? I know her.

She looks like Katherine Harris ... no, wait, Katherine Harris lives in Florida. Who is that? No, maybe she just looks like Katherine Harris.

Waitaminnit ... that's Mary Matalin! No, it can't be. It just looks like Mary Matalin. Where does Mary Matalin live? Hunh... I'll have to keep an eye out for her on TV to see if it was her.

So anyway, the familiar-looking woman left, and I was sitting on the couch next to another woman, who made a comment to me about something. She seemed open to a little conversation, so I brought it up with her.

Evelynne: Did you see that woman in the red jacket? Did she look familiar to you at all?
Woman: Mary Matalin.
Evelynne: It looks like Mary Matalin or it was Mary Matalin?
Woman: It was her.
Evelynne: Wow, really!? I wasn't sure if she lived around here.
Woman: She lives in Old Town Alexandria. A friend of mine lives there, and we see Mary Matalin out walking her dog all the time.
Evelynne: I was going to get my husband to keep an eye out for her on TV while he was channel surfing, so I could see if it was really her.
Woman: Yeah, I didn't remember her hair being that short.

Well, freakin' wow. I think that makes up for all those times I saw Bill Clinton instead. Mary Matalin up close and personal is something I can recall fondly from my days in DeeCee.

Poindexter said, "Good thing it wasn't her husband, instead."


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!