FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2001-12-16 - 11:25 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: A jingle from a Philadelphia tourism commercial.


Conversation snippet from Saturday morning:

I was reading an article in Reason magazine about drugs. All this talk about how great Ecstasy is, feel the love, blah blah blah.

As I've said, I've never even been drunk, mainly because I find life deliriously exciting as-is and because alcohol tastes yucky. I've never tried drugs either, because I'm too scared. So I start wondering aloud:

"According to these statistics, most people's drug use seems to peter out by their mid-twenties. Man, these drugs sure make people feel good. Hey, if drugs make people feel so good, why do they stop taking them, ever? Why not just be high all the time?

Poindexter's reply: "HANGOVERS!"

Ah.


Speaking of drugs...

There's a reason why I limit my caffeine intake. Good god. The jitters hit me hard about an hour ago, and I came home and ate a bunch of food to try to calm them down, but it feels horrible and I'm shaking all over. About half an hour before the jitters hit, I was full of energy and bouncing around the house, although that was partly because of my afternoon in the city.

For some reason it's also made my eyes go very wide, as though I am surprised or have the early-morning stares. Poindexter wandered over and got a look at me and said,

Poindexter: What's with the big eyes?
Evelynne: [confused] What?
Poindexter: You look like a chihuahua.

At that point he made his eyes go big, as mine were, and started shivering. That's basically what I must look like right now.

Evelynne: [laughing] God, this feels horrible.
Poindexter: That's what those drugs do to you! First you're on top of the world, and then you come crashing down!

(Renee, remind me next time not to drink more than a cup, or at least to eat a full meal with my tea, 'kay? :)


So, today Renee and I met at Dupont Circle to wander around and gab and go to open houses. This was a hell of a lot of fun, since we both love old houses and love the city. We wandered around, pointing at things and going, "Oooh, look at that." It was great.

We looked at a $1.4 million house that was a piece of crap and had a kitchen the size of a closet. That was interesting. It was big, corner lot, and had a view of the actual circle, so I guess that's why it was so frickin' expensive. It needed a lot of work.

One condo had a rooftop deck, which we both loved, and we stood up there for at least ten minutes just looking around, enjoying the view, drinking tea (Renee) and eating a ginger scone (me). You could see the Washington monument off in the distance -- which means you'd be able to see the fireworks on the Fourth, as Renee pointed out -- and had a good view all around.

(Poindexter would've loved the rooftop deck. But he refuses to live in DC, in part because you can't own a handgun there. From what I can tell, you *can* own a rifle or shotgun as long as you register it, but that's still not good enough for him.)

The last house we looked at was a 3-story house built in 1908, listed for $725,000. It was extremely well kept, with lots of gorgeous wood everywhere and interesting period details, and a REALLY nice one-bedroom apartment on the bottom floor (probably rentable for $2500+). It put the other crappily-kept houses to shame. And it had a big front porch with chains for hanging plants. That was the house I really wanted. Ha! Like I told Renee, though, I don't want to work as hard as one must to own a house like that.

Next time we do this, I'm bringing the digital camera. I'm still kicking myself for not bringing it this time. Would've made the entry a lot more interesting.

Once the open houses closed, we went back to Teaism and that was where I made the mistake of drinking almost two cups of jasmine tea, which led to the jitters an hour and a half later. Woo. I think the food helped.


When I got home, Poindexter told me all about the riot at the Cleveland-Jacksonville game. He was giddy with glee.

If I understand this correctly, the referees went back to review a play (via instant replay) AFTER a subsequent play had already taken place. This is Not Right (against some sort of rule, I guess), and the changed decision on the part of the referees basically cost Cleveland the game. The Cleveland fans were quite upset, and showed their displeasure with a spectacular display of infantile behavior, throwing bottles and cans onto the field until it was COVERED with litter.

Later I saw the news reports about it, and I was astonished. The players and coaches and referees were ducking, arms over their heads to protect themselves from flying beverages, and running inside. They cowered in there until the NFL Commissioner called the officials and told them to come out and play the game.

Meanwhile, the announcers are calling it a travesty and how this should "never happen" blah blah blah, and Poindexter is laughing his ass off and yelling "This is GREAT!"


Yesterday I spent SEVEN HOURS going through boxes in the storage room. Seven hours. Jeez. But I went through every goddamn box -- some of which haven't been opened for three moves now -- and we're donating five boxes' worth of stuff. Some boxes need to be repacked (mostly dishes I want to throw away but can't bring myself to do yet for sentimental reasons), and I have little piles of stuff I need to put away around the house, but it's mostly done.

It looks like a complete wreck right now. I hate that part, when you're actually almost finished, but it looks like a tornado hit it because of all the piles and boxes.


And finally, as promised, here's my new boots, plus one of my (cheaper!) outfits.

I'm feeling a tad bashful over that vampy pose in the middle, but oh well. I get a lot of mileage out of this outfit. I can dress it up, as shown, or I can wear just the duster with jeans and t-shirt like the young'uns do. I wore the duster to the mall once and noticed that I was the only person over 20 that day wearing one. Since then I've seen some women my age or older, so I feel better.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!