FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2001-10-11 - 9:03 a.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "The Old Mill Wheel", I think, some technical exercise for the fingers I played on the piano.


Ugh, I am feeling really detached from my journal and the internet these days. I'm trying to cut down on the amount of time I spend online, so I mainly read the articles in Kevin's and Glenn Reynold's blogs and leave it at that. I certainly don't feel like arguing with anybody!

Partly this is because the MIL was here, and because my parents arrive tonight for a two-night stay. Partly because I'm on a super-girly kick. Hard to get real involved in the internet when real life gets too busy. It's probably also partly due to the fact that I'm somewhat less introspective than usual, because introspectiveness tends to lead towards sad war-related thoughts, and I really need to sleep and function right now.


Well, you'd never think we were living on one salary with the way we're spending money lately. We went out last night and bought Poindexter $560 worth of clothes (all items were about 40% off though) and me a pair of brown boots to walk in. I don't feel the least bit guilty, though, since all of those items were things he's been needing or looking for for ages, so the money we used to buy them was allotted a long time ago.

We got him a charcoal gray suit (his first real suit, ever), a down coat for serious east coast winters (he's been here for 3 years and has been making do with some leather duster he wore in California that I call his "pimp jacket", because it really looks like the kind of thing a pimp would wear), and an utterly gorgeous leather fall/spring jacket that makes me want to jump on him when he wears it.

That last he's been looking for for quite a while, but men's jackets in size "small" are very hard to find. Poindexter's a skinny guy, and the mediums just looked ridiculous. This jacket fits him perfectly and is a fairly plain style that will last him years and years.

May I say, my husband is sexy as hell. Yes he is.

I do feel guilty about the boots, because they weren't on sale. I'm such a miser. It's not the money that's the object -- they actually cost less than I had budgeted -- it's that it wasn't on sale. Well, maybe I'll wait a bit and see if Macy's has a sale so I can return them and then get the sale price. Or something.


So, today I have an eye appointment. Regular checkup to see how much thicker my glasses lenses have gotten since the last one. Blar. I'm also going to show them the little painless lump on my sclera that I get when I wear contacts, which I suspect is an allergic reaction to the proteins. We shall see. I'm guessing they'll switch me over to daily disposables, if I can wear contacts at all.

My eyes are reduced to 2/3 their actual size when I wear glasses. Drat. Most of the time I don't care, but sometimes I'm just too vain. Sigh. I hope I can still wear contacts for special occasions.

Once I get the prescription, I'm going to try to find some glasses I like better than my current gold ones, whose shape is exactly like my grandmother's were and thus makes me feel ... you guessed it ... frumpy. Sigh.

There I go spending money again. And again, it's allotted money in my flexible spending account. I have to keep reminding myself that I'm supporting the U.S. economy!


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!