FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2003-02-16 - 10:06 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: Smashing Pumpkins, "1979"


Speaking of lumps of sugar in my oatmeal, I had an absolutely spectacular breakfast this morning.

We went OUT.

You're talking about two people who think a good weekend is one in which we never leave the house, and we went OUT to BREAKFAST in the SNOW!!

Of course, snow gets me all hyper and excited, so that partly explains it. I was jumping up and down in the hallway today, going "EEEEEEEEeeeeee!" looking over the balcony at the horizontal snow and the piling up below.

This morning there was only a couple of inches so far, and Poindexter suggested that we go to the diner. I wasn't too impressed with the diner's breakfast we had a couple months ago, so I said, "No, let's go to the place on the corner." That's the small restaurant that had really great upscale comfort food. They serve brunch on Sundays. It's a nice cozy place which has the unique characteristics of being comfortably hip, gay-friendly AND kid-friendly. It seems like everybody brings their kids in regularly, and the staff coos over them. There is a cute butch waitress with spiky blonde hair there and Poindexter pretends to be jealous and sulk when I smile at her. I love this place. And it's TWO BLOCKS AWAY. Perfect for walking to in a snowstorm.

So we got there, and I had to order two breakfasts. I said, "I *will* eat them all, just not in one sitting." The waiter's eyes bugged out when I told him my exact order. He could have just been kidding, though, because when I asked for some milk for my tea he said, "Absolutely not." I was smiling and saying "thank you" when he said "Absolutely" and then he tacked on the "not" and I pouted, then laughed.

I ate about a quarter of each dish, which translates to the half of a single entree I usually have room for. My two dishes clashed so I had to eat one for a while, then switch to the other for a while. We got:

- Scrambled eggs with cheese wrapped in a flour tortilla, with FRESH HOMEMADE salsa, FRESH HOMEMADE chunky guacamole, black beans, and sour cream

- Belgian waffle with YUMMY FRESH FRUIT -- strawberries, pineapple, peach, red grapes, bananas ... It was SO GOOD. I think they were really careful to pick out fruit that was ripe and in season. I won't eat fruit unless it tastes like that.

- Poindexter got the BEST FRENCH TOAST we've ever had, eating out, and it had a fruit compote thing on it.

It was SO GOOD. FRESH and FLAVORFUL. I don't know why it's so hard for so many restaurants to combine those two things, even when they charge me an arm and a leg.

I need to go start on the leftovers now.


The neighbors continue to annoy. The guy across the street shoveled his entire parking spot around noontime. Three hours later, the snow had drifted so much there was almost no evidence that he had ever shoveled. Now it's 6pm, and and he's out there AGAIN, shoveling. I am going to be gleeful if, in the morning, it's all snowed over again. HAHAHAHAHAHA! :p :p :p


From our fourth floor windows, you can see the downtown skyline. It's really spectacular, and will be even more spectacular from that roof deck we're hoping to get. On a clear night it's really beautiful. When it's snowing hard, however ...

Poindexter: You can't see the city anymore.
Evelynne: REALLY?! [I'm so excited about the snow, I'm talking in all-caps today]
Poindexter: It may not even be there!

So I ran up to the top floor -- not easy on a full stomach -- and looked out the window. And it was true. I could see nothing. Maybe it ISN'T there! Who would know?! It's like "The Mist"!


No gratuitous photo today, but I have some to scan for next time. Meantime, here are a couple of photos I took of snow-related stuff. First photo is the little tiny plow that does our street, second is the back deck. The big white blotches in the second photo is not actual snow; it is round dots of white paint that Kelsey painted on the window back before Christmas.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!