FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2001-01-02 - 4:13pm

SPECIAL EDITION

The sole purpose of this entry, which will be periodically updated, is to list the journals to which I am most addicted. There are others, but these are the ones to which I am most devoted.

And I am addicted, you know. I'd think it was sad, except that it's an extension of my addiction to reading. It's not much worse than reading while I brush my teeth. Actually, if I could read online journals while I brushed my teeth, or in the car on long boring trips, my life would be truly perfect.

Anyways. "Regular" journals are listed first, with my adored libertarian-conservative journals (the ones that make me think too hard, god bless 'em) at the bottom


"Regular" Journals

Terry is the first (and so far, only) real reader I ever got e-mail from (i.e., he didn't read it because I pimped it in some way -- found it on his own). We share an affinity for All-American Cheeseburger meals, books, and the song "Linus and Lucy". He just got his first real post-graduate job and moved into his own apartment. I like hearing about this stage in his life since a lot of it reminds me of the same stage in mine.

Amy. The first online journal I ever read. A 25-year-old homemaker in Ohio, pregnant with her first child, nesting in her first house. A complete read through her archives -- from her time in Texas to her trip to L.A. to today -- is highly recommended for a full perspective on where she is now.

Gnomeloaf has purple hair and a disgustingly adorable "oops" daughter. I love her biting wit and ... this sounds strange, but I like how she constructs her sentences. There's probably a fancy poetic term for this but I don't know what it is. She's not a rambler. Her sentences are like snowflakes; unique, intricate, and sharply defined, even when she's just talking about random crap. (There's a goofy Evie simile for you.)

The Ottoman Empire (previously Medea and Lucinda) If you like rambling that sounds like someone speaking directly to you, and you think the purpose of a main topic is to have something from which to digress, as I do, you'll love this.

Heather is a mother of a two-year old and seven-month-old twins, all girls. Get your serious baby fix here. If you're not as fascinated with babies and homemakerhood as I am, be sure to read the "word for word" entries and archives for some wonderful stories about her family.

Sarah is a writer, and just married the love of her life and moving to Canada. She usually has a theme for each entry. This is a very honest, open journal and she's an excellent storyteller and very introspective.

Kristala is an intelligent, very introspective woman struggling with depression. You may find this journal difficult to read, but I highly recommend it. Go back to the "earlier" links and read it all. She doesn't just sit around and curse the world; she explains and describes everything she feels and thinks with great clarity.

Catreese is hilariously funny in a very irreverent, bawdy kind of way.

Bear is just plain entertaining. Her chronicles of her adventures visiting her grandparents in Florida had me in stitches.

Objectivist/Libertarian/Conservative Types

Kevin Whited's Reason Forum is an excellent place to find your libertarian/conservative commentary for the day (in his weblog), along with pointed one-liner commentary from Kevin himself. His journal often has thoughtful commentary on current events, as well as the occasional fun rant about the Cro-Magnon living downstairs.

Tino doesn't keep a journal, but he's got a collection of what he calls "complaining". Very thought-provoking stuff, and he's sometimes blunt, which I really like. Plus, George Will is "stealing" his ideas -- he wrote a column on the same too-few-representatives premise that Tino did.

Jaffo is one of those writers who explains himself and his theories (most with an objectivist/libertarian bent) very, very clearly in great detail. Start with his bio to get to know him a little.

I've quoted Nick Wiltgen before. He's a libertarian atheist with excellent writings. Very open and honest. If you're atheist or agnostic, check out the fascinating Mormon transcript in the "My ideas" section. (His writings have disappeared from his site -- hopefully they'll reappear at some point.)


previous index next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!