FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2003-02-18 - 7:08 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "C'mon Get Happy", The Partridge Family


My annoyance at the neighbors is turning into extreme agitation and irritation. Monday afternoon I looked out the window to discover that someone had shoveled MY WALK, one shovel wide, within an hour of the snow stopping. Despite the fact that it was almost certainly going to start snowing again. I started whisper-shrieking at Poindexter: "Why do they do this!? WHY!?! They can't wait TWO HOURS for me to come out and SHOVEL MY OWN GODDAMN WALK!?!?! Are they FREAKS!? WHY?"

He patted me, and laughed at me, and said, "Why are you getting so worked up over this?"

Two reasons, I said. One is that they are doing a favor for me, and I don't know who's doing it, and I am agitated about that. The second is that I DON'T WANT TO RETURN THE FAVOR, BECAUSE I HATE SHOVELING. I don't mind doing my own walk, but I'm not going to do the whole goddamned alley. But if I keep letting this happen, I'm going to feel beholden to them and like a bad neighbor. UGH. I guess this means I have to start shoveling mid-snowstorm like they do. UGH!

I was supposed to get away from these people when I left the suburbs! Dammit!

Furthermore, the neighbor across the street was outside shoveling at 11pm last night. OK, I have decided: HE IS CRAZY. I don't need to worry about anything he does because he is CRAZY. A nice guy, and I like him, but CRAZY.


In more positive SNOW! news:

I love how there's absolutely nothing on the news but SNOW! SNOW! People shoveling SNOW! People complaining about the SNOW! People shaking their heads, "I ain't never seen SNOW! like this since I don't know when." It's GREAT! It's such a positive and upbeat thing to see -- even the poor reporters standing out in it are smiling a lot -- compared to the usual murder and mayhem on TV.

There is a pizza place in South Philly (a popular one, too, I think) that delivers pizza by SNOW!mobile! Isn't that COOL! They have the special insulated thingie to keep the pizza in so it doesn't get cold. I bet they got deluged with orders from cabin-fevered folks after that.

Poindexter made it to his office okay, although he was tired from trudging through areas where people hadn't shoveled their walks. Trudging through foot-deep snow is hard work. My poor California hothouse flower.

Today I went out to see if anybody had milk. Wawa had plenty of it. How nice! Milk for my cookies! The streets were full of people, although they all looked like locals, with very few touristy types.


Speaking of the cookies, and cross-referencing "Favorite Foods" and "Things I get VERY EXCITED about!":

The cookies in question are Keebler's "Chips Deluxe" or something, with peanut butter cups in them. I LOVE them. They get eaten too fast, so I try to only eat 2 or 3 a day to make them last. Some days I would cave and eat 5. That was until I took a look at the nutrition information and discovered that there are NINETY CALORIES PER COOKIE! They're not that big, maybe 1.5" in diameter. HUNDRED-CALORIE COOKIES! Holy COW! And just one cookie contains 10% of the RDA for saturated fat. I don't much care about calories but I worry about things clogging my arteries, so I'm trying to cut down. Two per day. It's hard.

Also at the Wawa, I bought rolls and roast beef. My favorite sandwich these days is roast beef with horseradish, sharp cheddar, and lettuce. YUM! I really like the horseradish. I will keep eating too much and stuff myself in order to eat more horseradish. Ugh. I need to find another way to eat horseradish, short of eating it directly off the spoon.


Speaking of my California hothouse flower, last night he shaved and showered and his hair was all in his face, and he looked SEXY AS ALL GET OUT, so I subjected him -- much to his amusement -- to an impromptu photo session. For ONCE, I actually managed to capture a few of his facial expressions that I especially love, not to mention all the floppy hair. It's hanging down to his nose and he talks daily about getting a haircut, but probably won't 'til we get back from Arizona.

We had a nice weekend, full of cuddling. Monday was especially nice, because I didn't really know for sure until the morning that he had no plans to go to work. So I lay on him and dozed while he listened to Howard. It was SO NICE.

Speaking of Arizona, I am very excited. We will see some of our best friends -- Joe and Joanne and their son and their new baby daughter (she was born on Halloween), and Justin is driving from San Diego and bringing his 7-year-old daughter too. On top of all that, I'm planning to meet Gonzolawyer, the fair Jessica, Ernunnos, and his lovely wife Heather for brunch on Saturday. Too much excitement! I hope I can handle it.


Another thing I've been obsessing about again is the logistics of polyamory, which never ceases to fascinate me. There's so much to consider, so much to work out! As I said in a comment: If Poindexter fell in love with another woman, the chances are very high that she's the kind of person that I would really, really like. Enough to want her to move in with us for my own platonic enjoyment, not to mention there's a lot of non-personal non-sexual time that couples spend together, so we might as well just all spend it together.

The thing I keep running into, and the thing that keeps me monogamous and makes me generally just steer clear of men I find attractive, is that I am horrendously selfish about Poindexter and want him ALL TO MYSELF, ALL THE TIME. It's hard enough to tear myself away from him just to go do fun things by myself or with friends. The idea of having to share him half the time breaks my heart, as well as the idea that he could be so close to someone else. In some ways, I actually can stomach the idea of him having a casual fling more than the idea of him falling in love with someone else.

Part of what makes our relationship as wonderful as it is, is the complete and utter devotion we have only to each other. Everyone else is a distant second. If either of us were to share the other with a third party, that closeness would be diminished. The closeness is so valuable to me that part of why I don't want kids is because Poindexter will have to take second place to their needs.

We had a lot of Deep Discussion this weekend. It was a good time for it, what with all the time lounging around in bed 'til noon while snow fell. A lot of it centered around theology, because of some e-mails I've been exchanging with New Iconoclast, but it's all still very jumbled so I'll have to write about it another time. Like, after I answer his e-mail. :)

The less serious discussions all weekend basically went like this:

Evelynne: IT'S SNOWING! LOOK AT IT!
Poindexter: Calm down.

Evelynne: HE'S OUT THERE FUCKING SHOVELING *AGAIN*.
Poindexter: Calm down, dear, don't get so worked up.


Here I am, standing in front of a gigantic snow pile on my street. Nothing very remarkable about a pile of snow like that except that it's ON MY LITTLE NARROW STREET, not in some parking lot. I guess this is the snow from the half of the street that is plowed. The rest of the street is NOT plowed (the stuff that was plowed on Sunday night just drifted back) and it's gonna be quite a while before anybody back there gets their cars out.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!