FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2001-01-24 - 9:15pm

Who's Who Cheat Sheet
Who I Read

On the internal soundtrack: "Carry that Weight", Beatles.


So, my interview consisted of meeting the volunteer coordinator and listening to her tell me everything that I had already read on the web site. I guess most people don't research as thoroughly as I do.

Anyways, I did learn a few things. I'll probably start doing the children's program next week. I met a few kids while I was there, a boy/girl set of twins near as I could figure. They were exactly the same height and about 3-4 years old. They were fascinated with my black leather gloves for some reason and were chattering away about them. They were adorable. The kids, not the gloves.


The black leather gloves, btw, belonged to my grandmother (Mom's mom). She had a bunch of them, in different colors, from back in the day when you always wore gloves when you went out. I have the black ones and two pairs of brown ones. They're incredibly soft. It always makes me think of her whenever I wear them.

The nice thing, too, is that since they were bought decades ago, my wearing them does not create a demand for more cows to be killed.

I am confused a lot about killing animals to eat, wear, and cover my couch. I feel guilty a lot. If it were just me involved, and not a weird husband who only likes black, I wouldn't have bought a black leather couch in a million years. I tend to be very girly when decorating and that's just way too masculine and dark. So I wouldn't have been suffering from cow guilt over my couch. Given that meat is technically unnecessary, I feel like I shouldn't be eating it, and I sure do eat much less than I used to. I'm learning to like vegetables though, even beans, so maybe someday...

One year for Christmas I received a small gift from Sam's brother, who was a vegetarian and brought a lot of my guilt to the forefront. And back then the only vegetables I ate were iceberg lettuce, potatoes, and the occasional apple.

ANYway. The gift was a small rectangular package, with a little note on the front: "For the wavering and confused vegetarian in you." Inside was a box of Barnum's animal crackers. It was probably the funniest present I ever got.


The place where I'll be volunteering is located in a neighborhood that I desperately, desperately wanted to live in before we gave up and moved to our current, practical home. It always twinges to be there, not unlike thinking about San Jose. This is just completely pathetic.

Which would I like better, I wonder: Living in a house that is imperfect, weird, and constantly needs repairs but is in my ideal location, or living in a perfect house in a less than ideal location? I thought the two were more or less an equal compromise, but now I'm not so sure. I think location matters more. Plus I *like* idiosyncrasies in a house. As much as I admire the layout of our house, I could put up with something a lot less perfect. I've never been driven crazy by anything except a lack of places to put things, and I still have that problem even in this house, largely because THERE IS TOO MUCH PAPER IN MY LIFE AND MORE ARRIVES IN THE MAIL EVERY DAY! Plus Poindexter keeps getting more and more pots and pans and kitchen utensils as presents and we have nowhere to put those anymore.

Sigh. Well, I'm just going to have to put my foot down when we move, I guess. Location comes first.


Poindexter is watching some awful bloodbath of a movie. I'm keeping an eye on it because, my land, Wesley Snipes is hot. There's something about his mouth that drives me crazy. Part of it is probably the space between his teeth. I love not-quite-perfectly-straight teeth. Tom Cruise has a little overlap in his teeth somewhere and I like that too. I'm so weird. I don't go for overbites or gray teeth, just when somebody has a slightly crooked tooth or a space.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!