FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2000-12-05 - 9:57pm

On the internal soundtrack: A song called "Blueberries".


That song, "Blueberries", is one my mom and her sisters used to listen to when they were kids. They played it on their 78rpm record player, and all through my childhood they would occasionally sing it just for the hell of it, all four of them together. If you've ever heard of it, let me know -- a year ago when I tried to track it down on the web it was impossible. They sing it like this:

One day while I was pickin'
Blueberries!
I met a boy a-pickin
Blueberries!
He was the finest thing
My heart went ting-a-ling
His eyes were bluer than the
Blueberries!

Of course I like to sing it to Poindexter, whose eyes have a similarity to blueberries. They've got that darker blue with white mixed in, similar to a well-worn pair of Levi's.

It's stuck in my head because there are blueberries in my breakfast cereal. Blueberry Morning, by Post Cereals. The little, tiny, round, blue berries make me ecstatic. Just one of those things. I like miniature, I like round/spherical, I like blue.


So I happened to see this morning that the former Miss America, Heather French, is pregnant. Apparently she had been to the doctor for a checkup, because she was not feeling well. Surprise, surprise, she was pregnant.

This cracks me up. I know a couple people who found out about their pregnancies this way. One of them thought she had the flu, and then the light bulb went on.

When I went through the Fishkill period (stress-related illness), pregnancy was the first thing I thought of, and I even took a test, although I knew that unless my last period wasn't really a period, there was no way in hell I was pregnant.

I don't think this could happen to me (not noticing I was pregnant), right now. I'm too afraid of parenthood. If I was more relaxed about it, I might not notice what my cycles are doing. Right now we're like Fort Knox with the contraceptives (two methods, EVERY time), and if Aunt Flo hadn't arrived by day 31 I'd be panicking; by day 35 I'd have bought one of those grocery store tests.

Every time I say stuff like this, I imagine that someday someone is going to print this out and wave it in front of my face laughing maniacally. "Hahahahaha, you said it would never happen to you!"

But if it does happen, that's how I want it to happen. Oops!

Speaking of oops, the friend who thought she had the flu got pregnant the FIRST TIME she had sex with the man who, amazingly enough, is now her husband of four years. I suppose it rarely works out that well, but it sure is amazing when it does.


previous index next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!