FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2000-07-13 - 986025379

Currently playing on the internal soundtrack: "Ask", by the Smiths

I wonder if I should put up one of those things many journalers have, where they tell you what they're eating, reading, and wearing. Nah. It would always say "Cinnamon Pop-Tarts (not the frosted kind)", and who cares what I'm wearing? Although maybe some pervs would get a kick out of it if I was journaling naked, which is not altogether unlikely. But I'll just stick to the soundtrack for now.

Since I noticed that I've got that soundtrack, I've been very amused when I stop and check to see what's playing. Some horrible songs have been on there. Last night it was "Heart Attack", by Olivia Newton-John. I couldn't believe it. Well, actually I kind of like that song but don't tell anybody.

WHAT'S BEEN GOING ON LATELY

We got Poindexter some skates. I'm *so* excited. He is working on his balance (he's never skated before) and I can see him improving every day. He tried his dad's skates when we were in Florida and I was running alongside him so he could fall on me, should he lose his balance. He only did once, and he fell backwards onto his ass instead of onto me. I felt terrible, but he was okay, despite the lack of padding back there. In retrospect I'm enormously proud of myself for not laughing.

I've been working on getting invitations out for my cousin S's bridal shower. It stresses me out. I'm not good at this whole hosting thing. When Poindexter and I entertain, it's usually only for two people and we cook them dinner. I have to figure out how to entertain 30 people, most of whom I've never met, and I have to plan it from 2.5 hours away from the location of the party. And I want desperately for it to be special for her, because the shower she gave me was really wonderful. I'm workin' on it.

Went flower shopping with mom last weekend the day after the funeral. I've got red dahlias, burgundy geraniums, red petunias, basil, and parsley. All in pots. I'm so excited. I put up the hummingbird feeder too, although I'm not terribly optimistic about getting any birds since there are no trees around here really. Mother is coming down to visit when Poindexter goes to Pascagoula, so maybe I'll get her to help me get real fancy with the little strips of "yard" we have here.

Or maybe we'll just sit around a lot. Tough call.

A SLIGHTLY MORE WELL-KNOWN FACT ABOUT EVIE

I am just like my dad. This year for father's day, I made him a card describing in excruciating detail how he puts syrup on his pancakes, cuts them up, and eats them. It's a very scientific procedure and it never varies. I had it down pat. He laughed so hard he had tears in his eyes.

The sad truth is that I am just as bad with the methodicalness, however much I may try to resist. Those Pop-Tarts I mentioned? They have to be unfrosted, they have to be a certain level of brownness when toasted, and I cut them into equal eighths with a knife. Then I eat the middle pieces first, then the corners. Always. If you ask me to eat it another way it will bother me intensely.

Poindexter made me a Pop Tart once and he only cut it in fourths, so I had to ask him to cut the fourths in half for me.

I also make faces just like my dad and his mother. I was washing lettuce from my mother's garden the other day, and it was limp, probably from sitting in a warm car for 3 hours on our way home. Once you wash it, it'll crisp up a bit, so I had to give it a try. But the limp lettuce was grossing me out, and I was making a horrible grossed-out face. Poindexter was shrieking at me to stop making faces or throw the lettuce away, but I could do neither. Alas.

IN OTHER NEWS

Our office aministrator told me today that our newest employee is hoarding spoons in her office. "She has like 15 spoons in there!" I waited 'til she went downstairs and went to peek, and indeed she had quite a few spoons in an empty plastic container. That's pretty funny. She must really hate washing dishes.

previous index next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!