FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2006-03-07 - 9:59 p.m.

3/3/06

OK, I FINALLY got my laptop back, after three weeks without it. I cannot express what a huge relief this is.

So, I'll start with a fashion post, of course, and show you some of the pictures I took and couldn't upload until today.

A couple weeks ago, after dropping Poindexter at work, I was waiting at a traffic light and a vision of color walked in front of me. I almost squeed out loud. It was a young redhead with straight long hair (think Bree's hair, on "Desperate Housewives"), wearing a bright yellow tailored wool coat, carrying a bright green Vera Bradley-style handbag. This is a color combination I could not pull off or even attempt, but my god she looked FABULOUS. I saw her again today. MARVELOUS.

Also, I have seen about a dozen girls wearing knee-length plaid coats and complimented every one of them if I was within earshot. You people whining about "too much plaid" in my cape ... hmph. :P

Anyway, awhile back I posted a picture of one of my consignment store scores (Max Studio, $9). I grabbed it because I loved the print but was having trouble figuring out how to wear it. I thought belted would work, but it didn't really:

LJer Ernunnos suggested that I chop it off and turn it into a mod dress. So, inspired by this photo of a Proenza Schouler dress from Fall/Winter 2005:

I did just that:

My facial expression was awful in that picture -- here's another pic so you know it's really me:

I think I need more opaque tights so I can have an unbroken line of brown below the dress, but I really like the new length. Thanks for the suggestion, J!


3/7/06

If you thought missing Valentine's was bad....

Mom: Happy Anniversary!!
Evelynne: Oh yeah!
Evelynne: Thank you!
Mom: You forgot??
Evelynne: Yep.
Mom: You're kidding.
Evelynne: No.
Evelynne: LOL
Evelynne: Good thing we have you to remind us.
Mom: You mean you didn't wish each other Happy Anniversary this morning?
Evelynne: No.
Evelynne: LOL
Evelynne: Sorry.
Evelynne: I'll have to e-mail this transcript to Poindexter.
Mom: You are both bad.
Evelynne: We're horrible.
Evelynne: We kissed a lot, though.
Evelynne: As usual.
Evelynne: Kissing when he woke me up.
Mom: That's normal. It should be even more today.
Evelynne: Kissing goodbye in the car. He always makes me kiss him about six times.
Evelynne: I don't think I need more than six goodbye kisses on any given day.
Evelynne: (for a single goodbye)
Mom: That has to last all day.
Mom: Maybe need even more.
Evelynne: Well I'll try to kiss him extra when he comes home.

*******

So, for Christmas Poindexter's sister gives him a bunch of fun joke gifts. That is how we ended up with a rubber chicken and a skull door knocker that plays the beginning of a famous Bach organ piece. This past Christmas, she gave him a gift we can only refer to as "The Fingers":

They're stuck to Poindexter's forehead in the picture. You can see there are five fingers and then an "extra" finger in the middle that I refer to as "the penis finger" because ... well, look at it.

It's made of that squishy stuff that feels sticky to the touch but leaves no residue, and they will "walk" down a mirror or glass surface. They feel absolutely disgusting and yet oddly compelling, like sticking your hands in pumpkin guts when you're carving a jack-o-lantern. So I hate them and am repelled by them and yet I am drawn to them. "You LOVE them!" Poindexter insists.

At first, we just amused ourselves by throwing the fingers at each other, or dropping the fingers on an unsuspecting bare arm. Then we started leaving the fingers on top of things -- somebody's chair, the hand lotion pump, the TV remotes, the computer keyboard, my glasses on the nightstand -- so they would have to be moved (and thus squeamishly touched) before the object could be used. I tried to put them in his pillowcase, but they were too soft to be distinguished from the actual pillow, so I pulled it out, stuck it to his face, there was a scuffle, and I ended up throwing them on top of his clock radio.

What I didn't realize was that I'd left them right on top of the alarm button! It would've been awesome except that he woke up before the alarm the next morning. Poo.

Then we started hiding the fingers in unexpected places. Poindexter always uses one of three black coffee mugs, so on Friday I hid the fingers inside the one within easiest reach in the cabinet (shoving the others further back) so he'd discover it when he made his coffee Saturday morning. I also thought I was pretty clever when I hid the fingers inside one of his gloves, so he'd encounter them when he tried to shove his hand into them. He called me "evil" for that one.

After the glove incident, I was a little nervous about when I'd encounter the fingers next. Half the day went by and nothing happened, I went out with some friends and came home, no fingers. I was playing on my computer for a while and then needed something on the desktop so I hit Start-M to close all the windows and what did I see but this photograph, obviously taken that same day, in full resolution filling up my desktop:

I laughed loud and long when I saw that.

The actual fingers were nowhere to be found, though. I was really beginning to wonder where they were. Then last night, Poindexter had a hockey game on the TV in the maydia room but was playing his computer game, so I asked him, "Can I hop around up here or do you want me to go downstairs?" And he said, "Ummmm.... if you don't mind going downstairs, I'd like to keep an eye on the game."

So I go down stairs, turn on the teevee, head over to put on my indoor sneakers that I wear for doing aerobics on the hardwood and ... there are the fingers. I grabbed them off the sneakers, ran up two flights of stairs, shrieked at Poindexter and tried to stuff them down his shirt. Unfortunately he grabbed my hand first, the hand with the fingers in it, and squeezed repeatedly, forcing me to feel the squishy sticky texture of the fingers, and hugged me with the other arm while I shrieked and he laughed.

So now the fingers are mine. Gotta think of something good to do with them.

EDIT: I put them in the toe of his slippers, which he will put on as soon as he gets home from work. Heeheeheeheehee!


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!