FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2005-08-08 - 7:59 p.m.

July 28, 2005 Strawbridge's is closing. :( I hate Macy's. It's crowded, cluttered, and has some expensive stuff without the great customer service and pleasing ambience of stores like Nordstrom. What happens to the Strawbridge's store brands, then? Karen Scott shoes? Amanda Smith and Valerie Stevens accessories and clothing? Fuck you, Federated. And fuck you, May, for running it badly and selling it. The one good thing about this is that they're keeping Lord & Taylor as-is for now. But how long 'til they close that or turn it into a Bloomingdale's? Ugh. It's the stupidest thing in the world, and I know it, but this bothers me. Strawbridge's is slightly more upscale than JCPenney in some ways while not being as expensive as Macy's or Lord & Taylor. It has great shoe and handbag departments for people who think $300 is a ridiculous price for a handbag or shoes but want something pretty. The Strawbridge's downtown sucks compared to the beautiful well-stocked and laid-out stores in the 'burbs, but IT WAS *MY* STORE! ARGH! And now I can't even go to the Cherry Hill Strawbridge's anymore!


August 8, 2005 Work has been hectic lately, but usually in a fun kind of way, so that's good. It just better stop being so hectic before we go to Poindexter's folks' place for two weeks. Last year I spent half the time working and it SUCKED. --- Two weekends ago, we went dirt biking for the second weekend in a row. It was hotter than we'd been expecting, so we stayed on the woodsy trails most of the time, which are my favorites anyway. This time we saw: a chipmunk, a lizard, several frogs, and some LIVE turkeys. They are goofy-looking, and their heads bobble when they walk, like gigantic fat pigeons with wattles. We also camped -- the truck tent somehow fit in the back of the larger rental pickup. And we built a fire, and I roasted weenies for the first time in my life. Those were some damn good weenies. Oh, uh, about the rental truck: I guess I forgot to mention that a large bough from a dead tree fell on our pickup during a storm a few weeks ago, and mashed in the roof and left dents and scratches all over. The truck's been in the body shop for over two weeks now. Ugh. I miss our little truck. The rental is only a midsize but it feels like a tank. --- This past Saturday, we had dinner with my folks on the outdoor deck of the Moshulu, a resturant in an old sailing ship docked at Penn's Landing. The food was pretty good, considering that the real reason to go here is for the ambience. We were quite pleased with the ambience -- excellent views of the water and the skyline, and it's cooler down by the water than it is surrounded by cement in Center City. We were also quite amused by all the boobies hanging out of tops and dresses, everywhere you look. My father is a boobie man, and my mother (who has an impressive rack herself, though modestly covered) is always sure to point out impressive boobies to him when she sees them, and she was basically nudging him every five minutes. Poindexter said dryly, "I see where Evelynne gets it from." (I am always pointing out to him chicks I think are hot, or whose butts are prominently displayed.) I mentioned to my mom that I was told recently that not many wives do that, and she was perplexed. "Why not? He likes looking at boobies, so I don't want him to miss out on seeing them." GOD BLESS HER. The woman is nothing if not confident, and I'm grateful to have had an example like that growing up. --- Yesterday, I walked all around Center City East of Broad, exploring the neighborhoods, with LJer CamilleOphelia after stopping for the requisite gelato at Capogiro (I had bourbon butterscotch and peanut butter; she had bourbon vanilla and turkish coffee. It was heavenly, as always, and if you live here, like frozen dairy products, and have not been there yet, what the hell are you waiting for?) and stopping in the art museum Lord & Taylor to look at the pretty shoes and handbags. We had a discussion about shoes as art, something to be looked at and admired aesthetically, rather than actually worn. Apparently I am not alone in my dilemma of falling in love with shoes I will never buy. The longer I am here, the smaller Center City seems to be. We wandered all over the place, starting at 13th & Market, wandering down almost to the Italian Market, back up to Ross (I had to return something) in my beloved Lit Brothers Building right across 8th from the Strawbridge building, and ending up in Old City in a couple of used bookstores. --- Scientific speculation in the Evelynne/Poindexter Household: Evelynne [reading about IUDs] THEY DON'T KNOW HOW THE FUCKING THING WORKS! How did they come up with the idea of sticking some copper in a chick's uterus if they didn't have some idea exactly what the copper was going to do? Poindexter: Maybe somebody dropped a penny in there once... Evelynne: HAHAHAHA! Poindexter: And the chick didn't get pregnant, and so she went to the fertility doctor, and they looked around and said, "Hey, look at this, look what we found" and took it out and then she had kids. --- And on an introspective note, LJer burntbythesun02 asked me in my "Inner Fictional Slut" post why I like people who are obnoxious. It was an interesting question. Here's my response: "Obnoxious" probably has different meanings to different people, so I should try to explain mine. I do not like deliberate meanness, things said on purpose to hurt another person's feelings. What I do like is directness and blunt honesty, and people who call other people on their bullshit when they see it. These qualities don't mix well with diplomacy and tact, so people who have them are often described as "obnoxious" by people who would rather they be more diplomatic, subtle, or politically correct. A lot of times people are offended by what is true because they don't want to admit that it's true. I'm generally not one of those people. Sawyer [from "Lost"], for example, is a bit of a dick, but he also has a way of cutting through the crap that I like. I liked Han Solo because he was honest about his financial motives for being involved in the situation and in his skeptical opinions about things like the Force, even though it obviously bothered some people around him.
previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!