FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2000-06-29 - 12:05:11

Currently playing on the internal soundtrack: "Rise", by Public Image Limited. Poindexter taunted me on AIM as he was leaving work by quoting the lyrics. He said "Did it work?" Yep.

On my way to work today, I noticed a sign at the mall that said:

EXPRESSLY PORTRAITS IS GETTIN WIFFY WITH IT! GET A 10X13 PORTRAIT FOR $9.95!

"Gettin wiffy with it?"

What is "wiffy"? I thought the expression was "Gettin' jiggy wit' it". Not that I can pronounce it right, but I don't think "jiggy" sounds like "wiffy" by a long shot. Am I getting old, not keeping up with the slang, or is the person who put up the sign the one who's out of it?

I also saw a vanity license plate on a small Cadillac that said "JEW 1". That was interesting. I'm not sure what message is supposed to be conveyed here. Is he proclaiming himself the #1 Jew in Virginia? Or he wanted just "JEW" but somebody already had that so he tacked on a 1? Hm.

Washington Post today has an article about Anna Kournikova. It mentions that she's in an ad campaign for some sports bra. The slogan is "Only the ball should bounce". HAHAHA! I am easily amused. That slogan makes me want to run out and buy a sports bra.

We were watching "The Incredibly True Adventures of Two Girls in Love" last night on Bravo. I had high hopes for it. I'm as happy to watch a romance between two people of the same sex as I am between two of the opposite, but there's a lot fewer of the former. Unfortunately the direction was very strange. Sometimes the acting seemed completely natural and then suddenly it would be stilted and wooden and the pacing all wrong. And the use of the camera and setup of some shots was glaringly obvious, like "Look! I'm doing an Artistic Shot Laden With Meaning!" Well. I taped the last hour so perhaps I'll like that better.

Watched a little bit of the Monkees "Behind the Music" and that VH-1 Monkee movie as well. "Behind the Music" was just depressing. They have aged SO badly. Even Keith Richards looks better than they do, although perhaps that's because he's always looked pretty awful. Davy especially went from being a pinup pretty boy to something frightening. Perhaps he's had a facelift gone awry. The VH-1 movie was weird. Very stupid, as these kinds of movies tend to be, but lots of painstaking attention to detail and reproducing EXACTLY scenes from the original show.

So. Poindexter complains that my entry yesterday was too long. Since he's my only reader at the moment, I'll humor him and cut this short. We're going to Florida tomorrow for a week to see his folks. Yippee!! We'll be docking in Miami and (hopefully) eating out at wonderful restaurants.

previous index next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!