FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2005-05-12 - 10:11 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: Some David Bowie (?) song about being afraid of Americans


Tuesday, May 10th, 2005

It has come to my attention that a number of you feel that I am not posting often enough. :P I shall now bore you to tears with an explanation of what I've been doing since my last update.

- Cleaning in preparation for Kit and John's visit.
- Visiting with Kit and John, and working or sleeping in between.
- Bidding a teary goodbye to Kit and John.
- Immediately hopping in the car for a trip to VA to show the house to more tenants and make some more repairs.
- Typing up and proofing the lease, and making arrangements to replace keys and garage door openers the previous tenant neglected to return.
- Accepting one applicant while having to write "sorry, found a tenant" letter to two others.

That last bit is making me feel awful. The one guy knew he had two applicants ahead of him, so that was OK, but the other potential tenant was a really nice young couple who seemed to really like the house. We gave it to the person who was first to respond to the ad, first to send in his application, and was able to begin the lease immediately rather than June 1st like the other two potentials. It's perfectly logical, but I feel bad anyway.

And now for the movie meme that two people (at least; I'm a bit behind) have demanded I put in my journal.

1) Total number of films I own on DVD/video:

Together we own something under 25 movies. At least 5 of them came free with our DVD player. Generally I don't buy a movie unless I want the special features or I know I'll watch it again and again or want to watch certain scenes. So we have stuff like the LOTR trilogy (exended edition, of course). The ones that I consider truly *mine*, that were bought because I wanted them, are: Rocky Horror Picture Show, The Coca-Cola Kid, Grease 2, The Sound of Music, Jackie Brown, Episodes I and II (starring Ewan McGregor, of course), and the next movie:

2) The last film I bought:

"A Life Less Ordinary", starring Ewan McGregor

3) The last film I watched:

* In the theatre: Episode II

* On TV: some treacly TV-movie called "Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas"

* On video/DVD: Rocky

4) Five films that I watch a lot or that mean a lot to me:

1. Monster's Ball (a favorite; I've posted about why before)

2. The Outlaw Josey Wales, which we watch once a year around New Year's. P's always trying to get me to watch westerns but I hate them. I don't care what wonderful feats of acting and direction they are; spaghetti westerns consist almost entirely of sweaty dirty men standing in the dirt staring at each other with their trigger fingers twitching. It's BORING. Josey was a sort of compromise and has become and annual tradition that we made up to justify the cost of buying the movie instead of renting it. We quote this movie a lot.

3. "A Life Less Ordinary". This is the movie that caused my crush on Ewan McGregor. Despite the haircut. I don't understand it either.

The last two are movies I watched repeatedly as a kid, though I haven't watched them in years.

4. Grease 2. The gorgeous hot Michelle Pfeiffer and lots of fun songs. "Where does the pollen go?"

5. The Coca-Cola Kid. I had a crush on Eric Roberts for a while (I know, it makes no sense), I love the Coca-Cola jingle in the movie, and Greta Scacchi is naked in it. Any movie with Greta Scacchi naked in it is worth watching.

5). Pick five people and have them put this in their journal:

No. :P I'd like to see anyone who's interested respond, though. :)


Thursday, May 12, 2005

So, I found this site called My Style Diary, wherein ordinary people (some cheapskates like me, some with expensive tastes) post pictures of themselves in various outfits. Some people do it like a daily thing and others post bunches of pictures at once as they play with their clothes. It's really neat, and there is a wider variety of style types than I've encountered elsewhere.

So of course I had to make myself a StyleDiary, but I'm limited there in the sizes of the pictures I can post so I'm posting bigger ones here for anyone who actually gives a shit about me and my little outfits.

Constructive criticism and suggestions are always welcome!!

This outfit is from Tuesday. I started with the bag, which I got at Old Navy for $10, and started adding things that looked like they matched, because I love my colors to match:

Here I am experimenting with this odd layering technique that's all the rage these days, wherein your inner layer is longer than your outer layer. I don't think I'm a fan of it. Maybe I'd like it better if the inner layer were yellow.

That short-sleeve olive cardigan I'm wearing is about 10 years old, and I got it at a store that no longer exists. It is far too baggy, so I have pinned it in the back with a brooch. I'll have Poindexter take a picture of how I do this -- it gives the fabric in back a kind of gathered look, almost as though it was intentional. I pin this way a lot so that I can wear my older sweaters (which are all 80s-baggy) and still be happy in them.

I think this outfit would've looked better with tan sandals.

Here is what I wore yesterday:

I left my head in the picture for you this time. This time I wanted to wear the pants, which are Old Navy linen pants from last year with a tied hem and a faint sheen to them that I can't capture on film. They're a deep reddish-purple color. I LOVE THEM. Then I started throwing on white stuff. The bag is from Target, and was about $15 I think, and the shirt is from Strawbridges last year and cost $8. I bought 5 of 'em in different colors.

I think I would've liked to use a scarf as a belt, but I don't have one that matches. Those are my $10 KMart sandals, btw, perfect for walking in. I got two more pairs later (on sale, $6 each) in different colors and I expect these will be on my feet nearly every day this summer.

I got the necklace at Icing by Claire's, which keeps having these sales where you get ten items for $5. I can only wear them once or twice before they turn green or the paint chips off, but it's a good way to experiment with styles I wouldn't ordinarily spend money on.

It has been discussed here on LJ that cropped pants are awful on most (if not all) women, and Poindexter has a coworker who absolutely hates them ("they're STUPID"), and I can SEE that these are not as flattering on me than regular pants, but dammit, I cannot seem to stop myself from buying and wearing them. I just like 'em. I do think that this pair looks better on me than the tan pair above, which I think is because it doesn't taper so much at the knee. Or maybe it's the longer length.

-------

On the way to work this morning:

Evelynne: *loud gasp* OH. MY. GOD. It's a good thing you didn't see that.
Poindexter: See what?
Evelynne: Pants falling off, revealing the top of a thong...
Poindexter: What's wrong with that?
Evelynne: ...on a guy.
Poindexter: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

He was a buff guy, too, so I rather enjoyed it myself, but Poindexter might've been freaked out.



previous index next










about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!