FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2005-04-14 - 10:09 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Somewhere Out There", from "An American Tail"


Tuesday, April 12, 2005

As I told Brian, I've had a crummy couple of days. For one thing, Poindexter's company's IT people finally got around to blocking instant messenger, so I don't have instant access anymore during the weekday. This is really frustrating. Things like arranging to pick him up or meet him walking home have become annoyingly cumbersome, and we can't pass links back and forth and chat about them on our lunch hour. We can e-mail, but it's inconvenient because he has to keep checking his e-mail rather than getting notification and either replying or ignoring it as he pleases depending on how busy he is.

And then, of course, there was the

TMI ALERT!!

UTI. I take all the usual preventive measures ("Wait, let me drink some water first" and then ruining the afterglow by running to the can immediately afterwards -- I long ago gave up on it being truly romantic and spontaneous), but every once in a while they fail me. This is the first I've had in 2.5 years, and if I didn't take all those preventive measures I'm sure I'd be getting them every week. I am not kidding. My grandmother drank a lot of cranberry juice and hinted that it was for UT health, so I assume I've inherited some tendency from her. Lovely. My mother, on the other hand, has NEVER HAD ONE, or any other type of female ailment. Why couldn't I inherit HER plumbing instead?! The woman is a TANK.

Anyway. The initial symptoms sprang up rather suddenly on Sunday afternoon, and despite drinking over 32oz of cranberry juice and ingesting a few cranberry extract pills with water, I couldn't make it go away like I usually can. By morning I had developed faint kidney pain, so I spent Monday morning in the doctor's office waiting to be squeezed in. By the time I got my consult with the doctor at 11am, the kidney pain was getting to the point where if I twisted my upper body a certain way, I got a nasty twinge. That really sucked, especially in combination with muscle aches from yardwork over the weekend. I took the sample antibiotic, stopped in for a few sympathetic hugs and kisses from Poindexter (he works a few blocks from the doc's office), caught a cab home, and went to bed. When I woke up I was dizzy but the kidney pain was gone. Antibiotics are just amazing. Anyway, I feel better today, except that for a couple hours after taking the antibiotic I feel dizzy.

END TMI

While I'm complaining, I ordered pink daffodils but they are coming up yellow instead. Dammit. There's some fine print about making substitutions when bulbs are unavailable, but I'd rather have had another type of pink daffodil, not the same style in yellow.

Bitch, bitch, bitch.

In more positive news, I think we've found tenants. They are very cute. They are also very communicative, which I particularly appreciate after how annoyingly un-communicative the current tenant has been during this move-out process. While we were down there, we saw some of our favorite neighbors and caught up on all the gossip and births and such, which was particularly nice.

There is more positive news, but the explanation got long-winded so I'll post it tomorrow.


Thursday, April 14th, 2005

So, I am washing sheets for Camille's upcoming visit and was reminded of a difference of opinion between me and Poindexter.

When he makes a bed, he pulls the blanket up level with the sheet. When I make a bed -- as I was taught by my mother -- I pull the sheet up just past the edge of the mattress, pull the blanket up to about six inches below the top of the sheet, and then fold the sheet over top of the blanket. The reason I like to do this, aside from finding it aesthetically appealing, is that it creates a smooth uniform surface to cover my ear with. If the sheet and blanket are both loose and open at the top, they move around and there are two ends flapping and that tickles me in an irritating sort of way.

It would also be unacceptable to do Poindexter's method and fold both the sheet and blanket over simultaneously, because then there's a big heavy glob of extra blanket at the top that bothers me.

Poindexter makes fun of me for being so fussy about the sheets and blankets. Never mind that he has to have the end loose so he can stick his feet out to maintain temperature. Don't get me started on that -- I can't sleep if my feet are hanging off the end of the bed or if they are not covered.

So, poll.



previous index next










about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!