FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2005-01-13 - 12:59 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Big Bottom", Spinal Tap


Wednesday January 12, 2005

OK, so. I have been looking for a sports bra to hold my girls in place when I am riding my dirt bike. They bounce in extremely unpleasant (borderline painful) ways when I go over a rock and land hard.

After spending something like 45 minutes in a dressing room trying on various sports bras and hopping up and down, I came home with a bra that zipped up the front (easy to get into) and allowed essentially no bouncing. But when I tried it on for a little while doing chores around the house, I felt like I was having a hard time breathing. Technically I am not -- I can fill my lungs to capacity easily, but I feel like I can't. Actually it might be bothering the very top of my stomach.

Is this just the downside of wearing a jiggle-proof bra, or does it mean it doesn't fit right?

The problem is, I have a tiny frame and a relatively large cup size (do not mistake this for complaining) so sports bras that fit me well underneath the boobies are too tight once the boobies are packed in, and sports bras that fit my boobies are too loose at the bottom. Does anyone have any recommendations?


Thursday January 13, 2005

Now that I've made all you signature fans out there hate my guts, I would like to admit that there is, in fact, one particular signature purse that I have a weakness for. I have a feeling that many people will find this purse hideously ugly, too, but I love it. AND, since it is a limited-edition couture item, it was listed on Ebay at $7350. It may only have cost half that when it was available, but it's still a heckuva lotta money.

It is made with ostrich leather and goat suede and lambskin something-or-other.

You can see what I mean about quality if you look at this fake for comparison:

On the other hand, quality or no, this bag is an abomination. Even if you really, really love the LV signature print:

Although if you deeply loved that bag and wore it I'd admire you for it, and not even grudgingly. :) 'Twould be hypocritical of me not to, what with the pink tweed hat and all. :)

-------

Camille commented that sometimes fashion can be about status, and I replied to her:

It's very hard for me to understand the "status" thing. I stopped caring about that midway through high school and it was a relief, so it's hard to imagine caring about it again to any great degree (i.e. $500 each for multiple fugly bags).

But I do remember in middle school when everybody was buying "Outback Red" stuff from The Limited, and I so desperately wanted to have it, too. DESPERATELY. My mother wouldn't pay for it, of course. I think I was allowed to get ONE sweater, ONCE. Back then I wasn't old enough to earn money of my own so I just had to suffer. It built character, I'm sure. ;) And these days I agree with her completely that the prices are too high there. :)

Just now I did a Google search on OBR and turned up this site of 80s clothing memories and was astonished at how much of it I remembered so clearly. (Those of you who went to middle school in the 70s or 90s may want to check out the links at the top.) Here are a few favorites:

------

Outback Red 10-button shirts
These shirts could be found at the Limited... they came in all colors (though red was the most popular) and had 10 tiny buttons down the front, about halfway down the shirt. There were knockoffs everywhere, but you weren't cool unless you had the original Outback Red brand (the tags were on the outside of the shirt in the back).

Colored mousse
Foam-in temprary hair color. You could choose from about 10 different shades, but unless you were blonde, only the darker ones made a noticable difference in your hair color. Washed out in one shampoo, but was permanent everywhere else(hands, towels, shower curtain, clothing,pillow case etc...)

Shaker Knit Sweaters
These were loose woven sweaters that both male and females wore. Some had a "marble effect" . The main color of the sweater would be woven with black or white threads thus giving a marbled appearance. These sweaters had a tendency to get stretched out easily due to the weave ( especially the sleeves) Some came in v-necks which girls at my school would turn backwards and wear a racer back tank top underneath so it would show. The loose weave did provide some "air-conditioning so these were a good top for transitioning from Fall to Winter.
------

HAHAHAHA! I did that with wearing the sweater backwards!! And I had gold mousse.

Damn, I wonder what, of all the stuff I really love right now, I'm going to be horrifically embarrassed about in 20 years. I do try to choose simple, flattering, classic styles these days, so maybe it won't be too awful. (Except for the pink tweed hat.)



previous index next










about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!