FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2004-11-19 - 7:02 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Southern Cross", Crosby, Stills & Nash


My family (parents and brother) are staying over Saturday night. Today I did a bunch of shopping for presents, food, and other supplies.

In the grocery store, "You Light Up My Life" came on the sound system as I was looking confusedly at the light bulbs. It was the Debby Boone version, with which I am intimately familiar. I put my hearing aids on the music setting and happily lip-synched along as I tried to figure out whether we needed halogen floods or if there was another type of flood. Then the music was drowned out by a woman laughing and something else I couldn't identify. I turned to look, and it was a large black man in a do-rag with a mustache and beard, singing along with in what I'd have to describe as a serenading pose, singing to the woman. That was funny, but I was mad at him for drowning it out.

I hate it when people sing along to music I like. (If I don't know or like the song I don't care.) Their voices are usually horrible (off-key and different quality) and when they do it I can't hear the music properly. Poindexter loves to sing along and does it at top volume, particularly when he's driving or doing chores. I always lip synch if I know the lyrics. Very occasionally I will try to sing harmony but I do it quietly because then I can't hear how awful my own voice is.

Aside from the musical interlude, the shopping trip was frustrating and long, and I got back to a kitchen that had been in a state of triage for several days, so I had a lot of straightening and putting groceries away to do. I was cranky and really not in the mood. Then I remembered we have a BOOM BOX now. So I grabbed Ansley's LJ-friends mix from last year and danced around the kitchen putting things away. Doing chores is SO MUCH BETTER with music! Wow! Hooray for new hearing aids and a boom box!

Poindexter came down a couple times to refresh his drink and looked at me in that pained sort of way he has. He can't tolerate any music but the kind he likes, and disco is particularly painful for him. "Ah, ah, ah, ah, stayin' alive, stayin' alive..."

While I was rinsing Poindexter's green leaf lettuce and putting it in the spinner (for his sandwiches, you know), I listened to his songs. I got bored with one and skipped ahead, then turned off another in the middle of it when I was finished. He hates that. I know this, and that is part of why I did it, but mainly I was just done. I got upstairs and he yelled, "IT WAS JUST ABOUT TO GET TO THE HOOK!!" Whatever that means.

And finally, I would like to announce that I am evil and I don't care about anyone except me. Well, I care about some people, but that's only because they have value to me, not because I actually care about anybody.

The end.



previous index next









about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!