FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2000-10-17 - 1:15pm

On the internal soundtrack: "Waiting for You". Richard Marx? Dunno.


So, the other day I was trying to reach the extra-virgin olive oil, which had been pushed too far back in the cabinet. I was standing on tippietoe trying to coax it over with my fingertips. In order to reach, I was at an angle at which I couldn't see what I was doing. Next thing you know, the light olive oil (the wrong kind), teeters off the shelf and BONKS ME ON THE HEAD.

I was not happy.

Next time I will be using the stool.


When I went shopping on Sunday, I bought new toothbrushes. They were on sale! Only $2. These are extra special toothbrushes that are designed to clean between the teeth!

I love the feeling of clean teeth. I am a toothbrush geek. A new toothbrush like this sends me into paroxysms of joy. And the technology just keeps getting better!


OK, I would just like to say one thing right now:

Being FOR gun rights does NOT mean you advocate killing people, willy nilly.

I'm seeing some campaign ads against George Allen (running for Senate here in Virginia) that imply that he is an evil, evil man who, by voting against gun restrictions, wants cute, small children to die.

This is ridiculous. Whatever faults George Allen may have, I cannot get upset with him because, for instance, he would not vote to outlaw concealed carry. I'm all for concealed carry. I want a criminal to pass up mugging me because he doesn't know what that bulge under my coat is.

There was an incident earlier this year involving a shooting at the National Zoo. Some teenager, a DC resident, got mad and fired off a few rounds, hurting innocent people in the process. Horrible, isn't it? How horrifying it must have been to be there. I can't even begin to imagine how it felt for the families involved. I'm so mad at that kid it makes me see red every time I think of it.

For some, the gut instinct is to say: Get those guns away from people before they can do more harm! Make people accountable for their crimes! According to the Million Moms, the way do this is in the way of "sensible" laws to license and register guns, require safety locks, etc.

Yeah, that'll help. You know what?

It is not legal to own or carry a gun in the District of Columbia.

That kid should never have HAD that gun, much less been carrying it around anywhere near the National Zoo. He was a CRIMINAL, and criminals do NOT OBEY these nice polite gun laws.

Not only that, but do you think this kid OBTAINED his gun from a legal gun owner? If he did, it's because he stole it. Most likely, he bought it, illegally, from someone who also obtained through illegal means. I really doubt he bought it at a gun show, too. And do you think it was REGISTERED? Of course not. You can't register an illegal gun.

I hate violence. I hate gun-related crime. I get incredibly angry with people who use guns to kill people and think they should be put in jail.

I do not, however, think that the government has any business telling me, a law abiding citizen, whether or not I should own a gun for self defense or sport or whatever reason I might have. They don't even need to know I have it. It's NONE OF THEIR BUSINESS.

I am all for encouraging gun owners to be responsible with their guns. The vast majority of them are. The few who aren't, well, they are engaging in illegal activities with their guns. That is not the fault of the guns themselves.

It's illegal to slash somebody up with a knife, but fortunately I'm still allowed to chop up my vegetables with one.


I can't seem to get away from the political stuff. I'm sorry. It's campaign season, after all.


previous index next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!