FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2004-04-29 - 9:41 p.m.

Wednesday, April 21

I've been mostly off-LJ since late last week, and am way behind. I expect to be busy through next week but hopefully it won't be too bad. Bits:

Happy belated birthday, Ansley!!

I have been ecstatically happy, being barefoot for the last three days. Until today, which is a tad chilly, I wore dresses every day. I can't seem to stand to have material touching me when it's warm, and a slightly loose sundress seems to be the best alternative to being naked.

I got four dresses from Victoria's Secret. Three of them are this dress in different colors. (You do not see that much cleavage unless I am bending over.) One of them is bright red. My seventyish neighbor saw me with P when I was wearing that dress and didn't recognize me. When I got closer and said hello, she teased me and said I looked like a hooker and to "stay off my corner -- go find your own corner."

I tried my new rice cooker last night, with some brown rice in it, and it spit rice-y water ALL OVER THE COUNTER. I hope it's just because I didn't have the lid on tight enough.

The Kwanzan cherries are all a-bloom in my neighborhood and I am just beside myself with joy. An even larger version of this photo is currently being used as my laptop's wallpaper.

-----

Portia and Ansley (and possibly Kitiara), I think y'all can relate to this.

My personal favorite is this one:

Houston: Until Mayor White institutes his city-wide bed time, you can grab a bite to eat at any number of places 24 hours a day.

Idaho City: IHOP closes - I kid you not - at 10pm.

When we first moved to Philadelphia, we lived a few blocks from Rittenhouse Square. Nearby is a shopping district, where all the stores close at 7pm. In the business district, everything closes at 5pm. On Sundays, throughout the city, a lot of businesses (particularly independent ones) are simply not open. This is in the CITY, for crying out loud. It was quite a shock to go from the always-open of the DC metro area to this. I would at LEAST expect the shops to be open until 9pm or 9:30pm, like a suburban mall, but apparently they just aren't.

I also feel very weird in places where an overwhelming proportion of the population is white. Philadelphia's neighborhoods are rather segregated, but the city as a whole has an even split between whites and blacks and a smattering of other ethnicities. San Jose has significant Asian and Latino populations. The DC area has EVERYBODY from all over the world. It's kind of hard for me to imagine that there are large areas of this country that are almost exclusively white, and that the country is 75% white overall (Dulcevox posted a link to this poll: Do you wear socks during sex?

I'm not talking about quickies, where socks might be forgotten in the haze. I mean, do you wear socks during sex on purpose?

If so, could you please tell me WHY?

If you're not a sock-wearer, would you have sex with a person wearing socks?

I'd make him take them off. If he's cold, he can turn the heat up.


Thursday, April 27

I'm having that work problem again -- very busy. I owe e-mails and comments and stuff. Meantime, I need to share:

1. As of last night, I have a new favorite hockey player, slightly displacing the non-spitting Paul Kariya (sorry, Paul ... I still love you though). His name is Jonathan Cheechoo, and he is a Shark, which means Poindexter can respect this particular hockey crush. I love Jonathan Cheechoo because he has the best surname ever, because he scored a goal by shooting the puck between his own legs, because he wrote a paper in school about how he was going to grow up to be a San Jose Shark, and because his hometown is ... get this ... MOOSE FACTORY, ONTARIO He says his favorite food is MOOSE MEAT. This is funny and cool whether he's kidding around or it's the truth. I think the TV said that Moose Factory is 500 miles north of Toronto. Also, I am fascinated by the fact that Moose Factory is apparently inaccessible by road. You have to either take a water taxi over there or walk across the ice.

(Tangent: How do people make the decision to settle in a place like that? I mean, why not keep heading south until it warms up a bit?)

2. Last night I dreamt that 9thmoon, Torquemada and I were spending the night at somebody else's house. Lots of other people were there, so bed space was scarce. I was going to sleep with them in a full bed, with 9thmoon in the middle, but Torquemada finally admitted that he was uncomfortable with this arrangement and so I spent the rest of the dream trying to find someplace else to sleep.

3. I also dreamt that Faecat was visiting and wanted to lay out in the sun, and I suggested Rittenhouse Square, mentioning that was a good place for people watching.


Saturday, April 29

Last weekend, Poindexter motioned me out of the office and pointed at the open guest bedroom window. There was a brown pigeon there ("a mourning dove", I said, though I don't know for sure). It was just standing on the sill in front of the open window and warbling into the house.

The next day, Poindexter reported that the SAME type of bird was fluttering outside our nook. He said the bird just hovered there, wings flapping, "looking at me!"

"It loves you," I said, "Just like me!" And I sang,

Why do birds suddenly appear
Everytime you are near?
Just like me
They long to be
Close to youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

He was not amused. Well, he was amused, but he made a face because he doesn't like the song.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!