FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2004-02-06 - 10:09 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Time after Time", Cyndi Lauper

LiveJournal stuff from February 5 & 6


I had a LiveJournal All-Star Dream last night, in which I was vacationing in a large old house on a lake in the woods with a bunch of other LJers. It was summer. Sounds like a horror movie, now that I think of it. Drat, I can't remember who was in it except Kit, whose room (which she would be sharing with Darling John when he arrived) was next door to mine on the ground floor facing a patio, and Portia and Ansley, who had a room on an upper floor. Near bedtime I went up to chat with them for a while, and Portia went to bed and I continued to chat with Ansley. When I went back downstairs, I said, "G'night, Formwalt." Heh.


An IM from yesterday:

Evelynne: I'm going to do my exercise tape for a bit.
Evelynne: I feel horribly sore and stiff today.
Evelynne: Is this all because of me smacking my head last night?
Evelynne: maybe I'm dying.
Poindexter: poor thing.
Evelynne: We'll see how I feel when I'm warm, I guess.
Poindexter: YOU'RE NOT DYING!
Poindexter: YOU DO THIS EVERY YEAR!
Evelynne: LOL

All right, for posterity, I'm going to list my symptoms of "winter doldrums".

- Increased appetite
- Severe difficulty getting out of bed in the morning
- Stiff joints
- General sluggishness
- Increased crankiness

I'll add to the list as symptoms arise. BTW, the "smacking my head" incident was the result of me trying to get into the car with multiple shopping bags and a bulky coat. I wasn't paying attention to where my head was, and when I tried to drop into my seat, I smacked my head on the edge of the car (fortunately it was the padded thingie around the window). I didn't hurt my head, but it felt like I pulled every muscle on the left side of my body a little bit.

Getting old sucks. Winter sucks. I want a nap.


Dulcevox mentioned that her pet peeve is "people who put other people down to feel good".

A couple weeks ago, Poindexter and I were discussing the time I fell in love with Poindexter, during which I was unable to eat. His entire family was convinced that I was anorexic and bulimic, and he was a little concerned himself. When he brought up the topic with me, he actually said, "We need to talk." HAHAHAHAHA! (You can read the full story in the last segment of this entry.)

Anyway, once he talked to me, he was 95% convinced I was telling the truth, and after spending more time with me he knew it was a non-issue. The rest of his family, however, wasn't quite as easily convinced.

Evelynne: Do you think some of your aunts & uncles still think I'm bulimic?
Poindexter: Oh, I'm sure of it.
Evelynne: That's terrible! I hate that! I don't want people thinking things about me that aren't true!
Poindexter (kidding): Even if it makes them feel better about themselves?
Evelynne: That's even worse! That's horrible! I hate people who need to put other people down to feel better about themselves!

After that I went on a rant. I don't understand why people do this. I don't go around ranking people like that. If a person has a quality I admire, I try to emulate that quality and be more like them; I don't try to find something about them that makes them "bad". And I especially don't get people who SAY THINGS to put people down, who try to make people feel bad, because it makes them feel better about themselves somehow. If I say NICE things to people, and make them feel GOOD, that makes me feel good about myself.


Gratuitous photo of the day:

Same weddin', different photo.

previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!