FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2000-09-28 - 986026419

On the internal soundtrack: "Comin' Through the Rye". Some weird old (i.e. pre-1900) song based on a poem by Robert Burns. It's in my head because of a reference to J.D. Salinger's "Catcher in the Rye".


So, I am famous. Sort of. One of our clients published a paper and I'm cited in it. We did some of the numbers. I don't know how I feel about this. I hope the numbers are right. Happily, the numbers are already sort of obsolete because it took them 1.5 years to write the paper.

Funny thing is, they screwed up and used an older version of one table and will have to send out a "correction" sheet. That's gotta be embarrassing for them.


The sick administrator is back in the office already. No way she's not contagious. I'll kill her if I get sick. Jeez, I'm sneezing right now and it's past noon. My allergies don't usually last that long. Hopefully it's just psychological.


Poindexter is still whupping our asses in Pictionary. He's got around 22 points to Mom's & my 13 and Papa's 11. Crap. He smirks. He does it on purpose just to make me crazy.


I am wearing my new jacket. It's dark brown and looks like suede but it's machine washable. Makes me very happy. I really need to only buy clothes I'm wildly excited about so I don't have a closet full of clothes I feel frumpy in.

Actually, when I bought them I didn't feel frumpy, but now I do. How to solve the problem of a changing taste in clothes? Hm. Next year I'll probably feel like a tart in the fitted clothes I'm now buying. I can't win.


I'm trying to figure out if I want to read about current events in my journal 10 or 20 years from now. I think I do.

It's those twins in Britain. Conjoined at the lower abdomen. The court has ordered them to be separated. If that happens, Jodie will be fine, but Mary will die, because she is depending on Jodie's heart and lungs for support (Mary's don't work, or aren't there, or something). Meanwhile, if Jodie has to continue supporting two bodies with one set of organs, she'll supposedly die within six months and then they're both dead.

What a mess. It's horrible no matter how you look at it. Deliberately kill one twin so the other will survive, or let them be and they'll both die (or will they? how do we know the heart will definitely give out?).

Is the court really the one who should decide this? Or should it be the parents?

Something to consider: If the twins were not conjoined, and Mary's heart and lungs didn't function, she would die and Jodie would live.


previous index next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!