FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2003-03-02 - 9:54 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Sympathy for the Devil", Rolling Stones


Today is Poindexter's 33rd birthday. I am calling him "old man". Then I tell him that 33 isn't really that old. I definitely never expected to find a 33-year-old man so devastatingly sexy. I've been chasing him around the house a lot this weekend. He seems to like it.


Yesterday, my allergies were pretty bad, and I was sitting at the desk kind of whimpering about it. I've had allergies for years, and they have no rhyme or reason to them. Usually they just last an hour or two in the morning, and putting up with that is usually better than dealing with the side-effects of OTC antihistimines (even a quarter-pill turns me into a fuzzy-headed zombie; I am utterly useless). And I will have weeks at a time with no allergies, but they're not seasonal. I can't figure it out.

I sneeze a lot. Probably, on average, about 15 times each morning, usually in threes. ("Isabelle sneezed in threes.") I go through what feels like 50 tissues a day. No wonder I feel guilty about using paper plates -- I'm using my up my wasteful paper quota in tissues. I've considered switching to handkerchiefs, but I'd need fifty of them and I'd have to run a load every single day.

ANYWAY. So yesterday I was whimpering, and Poindexter said, "Go find out about that new OTC medication you told me about." I saw an ad on Yahoo for a new drug, but got aggravated when I had to download software to get a coupon, and forgot the name of it when I closed the window. But I found it, and found out that it -- Alavert -- is GENERIC CLARITIN. Claritin is no longer a prescription medication. Claritin supposedly doesn't cause drowsiness! So I went to the pharmacy and got some, and I tried a half-pill this morning, and it really seems to be working, and I'm not sleepy. This could be the dawning of a new relatively sneeze-free era for me.


Before I forget, here are some bits I've been meaning to put up:

---

One night last week or the week before, we heard a helicopter overhead. Instead of passing through, it stayed there, and it was very close. So we went to the window, and saw that the helicopter was circling our neighborhood and using a spotlight!!! It really seemed as though it was looking for something. I suppose there could've been some fugitive criminal, but it's not very likely. Maybe they were practicing. It was nifty.

---

In relation to this post by New Iconoclast:

Evelynne: This is one of [their] "our songs": http://www.romantic-lyrics.com/ly29.shtml
Poindexter: We don't have much in the way of "our songs"
Evelynne: That's because you hate corny songs, and love songs are invariably corny. LOVE is corny. I bet it just about KILLS you to be in a state of such corniness.
Poindexter: lol

---

I had a realization over Christmas. It was really quite stunning to me. You know how sometimes there are things we just absorb as children and never really stop to consider them until we become adults? And when we do stop and question what we were told, we can't believe it took this long to notice that it isn't necessarily so?

Well, for me it was this: I don't have to eat the crusts of bread. The crust on bread like Wonderbread or Bran'nola. I don't like it, and I'm not going to eat it anymore, and that's OKAY. My mom always nagged me to do it when I was a kid, and told me it would make my hair curly, which is a LIE, and my husband always eats his crusts, and somehow I had this idea that I had to, also. But I DON'T. And I'm NOT GOING TO.

It's like Bush I said: "I do not like broccoli. And I haven't liked it since I was a little kid and my mother made me eat it. And I'm President of the United States and I'm not going to eat any more broccoli." (Although broccoli is awesome and I really suspect that unless it's a texture issue, he just hasn't had broccoli done right. There's more you can do with broccoli than boil it soggy or cover it in a cheese sauce.)

But! Since Christmas I have found myself eating crust and not liking it! I *forgot* I wasn't going to eat it anymore! That is bad! So I need to remember.


I have decided that winter is over. ARE YOU LISTENING, WINTER?! *OVER*!

I've had enough. It's been a long one, because of the fact that fall was rainy and cold. It's been too long. Time to put away the miraculous coat until next year. I was outside beating the rug and I am positive I smelled spring.

Just to prove it to myself (even if I don't manage to convince Mother Nature), I did some "spring cleaning". Did a lot of straightening, sweeping, dusting, and organized the pantry cabinets a bit. And it's a beautiful day outside, so I'm going to primp a bit, put on some clothes that do NOT include long johns, and go for a walk. In my medium-weather coat. Nyah.


Here is another photo of the same cactuses as yesterday. The girl is sticking out her tongue at the photographer, who was probably being obnoxious.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!