FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2003-02-01 - 5:16 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: The Wawa jingle from a commercial from when I was a kid.


I wrote this entry before the shuttle thing happened. Then I was sad, and didn't feel like improving it and posting such little lamenesses. On the other hand, I appreciate these little lamenesses a great deal, as part of a general appreciation of life, so there's that.


Lately I've been forcing myself to take daily walks even though I still don't want to, despite the miraculous coat. I found that if I go walk around for a half-hour, when I come back my feet stay warm for the rest of the day. This is also somewhat miraculous.

Went to the Wawa to buy my brother some stuff. Exiting, I held the door for a cop through who was carrying two coffees (no doughnuts!).

He thanked me and said, "You didn't have to do that" (I had two bags myself, one in each hand). Then he said, "My ex-wife never did that for me," to which I could do nothing but laugh. The first thing that popped to mind -- "Good thing you're rid of her, then" -- seemed a little harsh.

My brother asked me to pick up some WHOLE MILK. I never buy whole milk for myself, since I find 1% to be just fine, so why clog my arteries. So whole milk is like this HUGE, special treat for me, like a MILKSHAKE, almost, that I only get at my mom's house. And we have homemade chocolate chip and chipless cookies to drink it with. I can hardly wait.


My brother's friend Dan met him at a local bar on Thursday night, and came back here to crash. Beforehand, I told my brother that I would put out some blankets and pillows for Dan so that he could sleep on one of our couches.

Now, understand that I've known my brother's friends for years and years, and they are like extra little brothers to me in a way. If they're gonna be staying at my house, I will fuss over their comfort a lot.

There's a really comfy couch on the bottom floor, but it's extremely cold down there because our leaky front door just sends drafts directly down into that room.

Poindexter assumed that because of this, Dan might just want to sleep on the floor in the guest room. So Poindexter put four pillows, a blanket, and a thick comforter on the floor in the guest room, where my brother sleeps. I was dubious that Dan would want to sleep there, but said okay, whatever. I left a note for my brother explaining where the stuff was.

In the morning, we peeked through the Brady Bunch stairs, peering to see if anyone had stayed there. All we could see was the white mattress pad thrown on the right half of the couch. The mattress pad had previously been on the floor to cover the wires of the projector, VCR, and DVD player so people were less likely to trip over them. Poindexter said, "Either he's really skinny and disappeared into the couch, or he's not there."

When I got home from dropping Poindexter off, I peered in there again and realized that Dan was, indeed, sleeping on the couch. He was half-burrowed under the poufy pillows on the back of the couch. He was using the armrest (which is, admittedly, squishy and soft -- I've napped on it) as a pillow, and was wearing his wool jacket. The pillows and blankets we pulled out for him were nowhere in sight.

The oddest thing was that he had the mattress pad wrapped around his legs, mummy-style, as though trying to keep all the heat in.

I was horrified. It's gotta be 55 degrees down there in the middle of the night (we set the thermostat at 60) and I can hardly stand to be down there when the temp's set at 70 when we're watching movies. He's SLEEPING down there, with NOTHING COVERING HIM except a DIRTY MATTRESS PAD.

Apparently my brother was expecting the stuff to already be on the bottom floor, and by the time he found the note explaining where the stuff was, Dan was already passed out.

I made myself feel better by putting a comforter on him. He smiled at me putting the comforter on but didn't really wake up much.

It was 4pm when he finally woke up, and by then my brother was nodding off in front of the TV set after waking up around 1:30. Good grief. I don't think I've slept past 11am since college. I told Dan the whole story of my fretting and he was greatly amused by it. "I've slept in far worse places," he said.


Gratuitous photo of the day (we can't have butt pictures EVERY day, after all):

This is a picture of me that Poindexter thinks is cute and I absolutely can't stand. I think I'm posting it because I feel like I'm being dishonest always posting those photos taken just from the right angle with just the right smile. Even though Renee says I actually look better in person.

Anyway, I'm asking him if the knife I'm holding is dirty or clean. He says he likes it 'cause I look "reckless" in it. Well, I'll just thank my lucky stars that I have a husband who thinks I'm cute almost 100% of the time. :)


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!