FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2002-12-03 - 11:49 a.m.

On the internal soundtrack: Something from "Les Miserables"


While we're talking about polls and pounding my cake, I felt I should mention this:

Our security system is turned on by pressing the pound key (#) and then another key marked "away" or "stay". At night we use the "away" setting, which turns on the infrared sensor on the main level.

So every night, we "pound away".

Heh heh, heh heh.


Had a visit to the gynecologist yesterday.

(waiting for the men to run away screaming)

TMI alert.

I was fussing about the visit for a week or so leading up to it. Wasn't looking forward to it. Said I didn't want to go. Poindexter said, "Then why are you GOING?!" and I said, "Because I *should*. It's been three years."

What I didn't realize was that he thought I didn't want to go because I didn't want some strange doctor staring at my privates.

This wasn't the case at all. In fact, I was surprised when I thought back to the visit and realized I hadn't been feeling even remotely bashful. I mean, she's a doctor. She looks at genitalia all day long. It's very hard for me to care that she's looking at mine, especially in such a clinical way.

What I DON'T like is having my cervix scraped for the Pap (ugh) and my innards being prodded and squeezed when she's checking the ovaries, uterus, etc. Good god. That's annoying. I told Poindexter, "Just wait 'til your first prostate exam."

Anyway, she was extremely frank and direct and talked a lot -- my kind of doctor -- so I was very pleased. And she ended the exam with, "You're FINE!", which was also pleasing.

And then I WALKED HOME! WALKED!


So, as longtime readers know, I'm not big on celebrating my birthday. I like getting the cards in the mail, but I've never asked Poindexter to get me a present and we don't do anything special.

This year, though, with my mom living only 40 minutes away, I got suckered into sort-of celebrating.

My mom is one of those people who likes to celebrate birthdays ON THE DAY. And she hasn't been able to celebrate ON THE DAY with me for about ten years, I think. She asked what I was doing on my birthday, and I just KNOW she would LOVE to celebrate ON THE DAY. Plus, she offered to make me a gingerbread cake, so, well ... looks like we're having takeout and gingerbread at my house tonight. Stacey is coming too, with Kelsey and Lee. Should be fun. The house was already clean from the in-laws' visit so there was no preparation involved.

Now I have to decide if we should use paper plates or china for the takeout...


Now a couple completely gratuitous photos of yours truly:

Here is me at my Dad's birthday party, in one of the outfits my MIL helped me pick out while shopping last year:

This one is of me, taken when I celebrated (ON THE DAY) my mom's birthday two weeks ago. Papa likes this one; I'm not so sure. At least I don't look wrinkly, seeing as how I'm now IN my THIRTIES:


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!