FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2002-11-15 - 6:15 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Ask", The Smiths


Yesterday or the day before, I happened upon a white pickup that had a bumper-sticker-sized paper in the rear window. Could've been a bumper sticker; I dunno. The wording on the paper said,

"Who is John Galt?"

THAT was freaky. I've heard that this sort of thing was popular when the book first came out, but I've never seen one before. And I certainly didn't expect to see one in the People's Republic of Philadelphia. I was pretty surprised.

Y'know how gay folks have their little rainbow stickers and pink triangles? These are nice little identifiers. I was driving once with a bi friend who had a rainbow sticker on the car somewhere, and we got the friendliest little toot and wave from a lesbian couple who passed us on the freeway. It was nice.

So I'm thinking, us libertarian/conservative types need a little sticker of some sort that we can put on our cars or backpacks, so that we can find each other more easily. Going online works, except that far too many of you are in Texas, Seattle, and Arizona. >:(


Got my teeth out yesterday. It was EXACTLY the same as last time. Troublesome bottom tooth with twisted root, easily removed top tooth. This time I held my jaw the entire time, so perhaps I didn't damage the hinge muscles as much and I will be able to have a cheesesteak sooner.

Right now I'd kill for a spinach salad with nuts in it, though. With a balsamic vinaigrette. *weep*

Really, the bland diet is killing me. I like VINEGAR! SPICES! HOT SAUCE! Crunchy vegetables! Nuts! It's hard to eat soup and cream of wheat all the time. I like cream of wheat anytime, but I hate soup.

The OTC aceteminophen didn't work well enough the first day, so I caved and took a Percocet. Still hate the dizzy feeling, and it didn't get rid of the pain entirely. But I did notice that I got a sort of warm fuzzy nice feeling in the rest of my body. Hmmmm...

Poindexter's got a canker sore on his upper lip. Lots of people get these from time to time, but he gets them from stress, usually, and they are often the size of a pencil eraser or larger. This one is on his lip, and it swelled up and looked like he'd gotten hit in the lip. Anyway, when he has them, he can't eat spicy foods, or vinegars, both of which are the mainstay of our diet. He was flipping through our recipe folder and said, frustrated, "I'm trying to find something bland." I said, "We don't LIKE bland food, dear."

Sigh.


Yesterday before I had my teeth out, we went to the parking authority to get our parking permit. After a lot of fussing and go-rounds about parking garages and such, we finally decided to keep the VW in our garage and the truck on the street. The permit is only $35 for the first year, $20 thereafter. Even if the window gets broken once or twice (not likely if we keep the truck empty), it's way cheaper than a lot.

The woman at the parking authority was extremely friendly and pleasant, and the whole thing took less than five minutes. It was a nice start to the day. She told us that if we ever got a ticket -- "Sometimes they do make mistakes" -- we should just mail the ticket with a copy of our receipt for the permit.

Then I went and got my teeth out.

Then I went home, parked the permit-ed truck on the street, walked to the pharmacy, nearly got run over by an asshole in a beautiful brand-new red Corvette who was watching for cars but not pedestrians. He didn't look the slightest bit repentant, making me wish I'd had the forethought to spit on his car and run.

This morning, I went to get the truck and ... yep, ticket. Stupid parking person didn't look hard enough to see the sticker through the tinted glass in the rear window.

The REALLY amazing thing, as someone who had to pay $50 for a DC parking ticket, is that this ticket only costs FIFTEEN DOLLARS. That's it.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!