FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2002-05-30 - 5:08 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Papa Don't Preach", Madonna


People-watching updates:

Yesterday when we were waiting for the elevator, the door opened and a man came out. When he caught sight of Poindexter, he stopped short, blocking the elevator door. His eyebrows went up, and he gave Poindexter a good long up-and-down checking-out glance. Then he threw a cursory glance at me and pranced off. My lands. I don't know if he approved of what he saw or not.

Day before yesterday, I walked out the back of the building. There was a man there, apparently waiting for someone. He was about my age, black, good-looking, and wearing a snazzy yellowish-brown suit in a tweedy or herringbone type of small pattern. To call it "yellowish-brown" does not do it justice -- it was a really cool unconventional suit. He was also wearing sunglasses with gold rims. And he was dancing, possibly tap-dancing, with a huge grin on his face. So I smiled at him, and kept smiling over my shoulder as I walked away, and he grinned right back.

Down on the corner, I saw one of those "alleged" homeless folks again. The girl I had thought was blind. She wasn't blind. She was still extremely clean, and she appears to have highlights in her hair that are growing out. She was sitting there patting her puppy and talking to another girl who had sat down next to her. They were talking very animatedly and smiling a lot. I didn't see her "homeless" sign anywhere. This is just weird. If she is that personable and appears normal, why is she sitting on the street? I suppose she could have some kind of mental condition that prevents her from working?

There is a security guard at the front desk, a woman, who has a pierced cheek. I thought I was imagining it at first -- I'd never seen this type of piercing before -- but she's got a stud right in the spot where a 1940s starlet would've put a beauty mark. I'm not sure if I like it or not. The woman herself is stunning, with perfect skin, so the stud is like an imperfection. Generally I like bellybutton, ear cartilage, and eyebrow piercings, but I can't get into the ones that look like they get in the way when people are eating, or have a cold.


We're leaving tonight for a quick weekend trip to Florida. Hooray, hooray. We saw MIL at the funeral but haven't seen Papa since Christmas. They asked if we wanted to do anything while we were there, and we said, "Nothing." Time to get away from high taxes, ridiculous insurance rates, and the city/suburb quandary, and just veg on the back deck by the water, chatting with the 'rents.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!