FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2002-05-07 - 10:11 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Beat It", still. Poindexter was horrified last night at dinner when I began "dancing" along from the dance sequence in the video.


So, tonight I took myself on a walk.

Along the way, I saw this building. Pardon the size of the photo, but this is the kind of building that I get all excited about. It's old, and it's got intricate STUFF on it. I don't have a photoshop-type program to fix it up, so maybe you can turn up the brightness on your monitor if you need to. They just don't have buildings like this in the 'burbs:

I like the Spanish tile on the little ... rooflets (clearly I need to take an architecture course), and the shape of the top of the building. I took the photo with the zoom from a distance, so I have no idea what the building is. The little crosses on the edges make me think it has or had some sort of religious purpose. I'll track down where the building is and try to find out.

Also along the way, I saw this street, which is EXACTLY the kind of street I want to live on. Trees, every house different from the other, but still close to STUFF (notice the business district skyscrapers in the distance):

On that same street is this house, which I unfortunately blurred:

You can't see it in the photo, but the owner put a dozen or so large plants in the big picture window, making it look like a greenhouse. I also love the window boxes and the ornate grates over the basement windows.

One more house on the street that I liked:

On this one, I love the glossy black trim, the window boxes, and the flag-things (what the heck do you call those) on the second floor "balconies". It makes it look very early-American Philadelphia, which I suppose it is.


As you can see in the photos, the streets are wet. I got caught in a rainstorm and was on my way to getting fairly well drenched until I ducked into a market. Lo and behold, this market was selling a folding grocery cart for only $30. I was tickled pink.

I pushed my cart all the way home, feeling rather dorky. It's like pushing a big bulky baby stroller. And when I arrived back home and opened the door, Poindexter took one look at me and said, "Oh. My. God. It's a bag lady."

I must make a point of looking as stylish as possible next time I'm out shopping, to play down the resemblance.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!