FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2002-04-08 - 7:54 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: This song:

Wienie, wienie, wienie, wienie
Wienie, wienie, wienie, wienie
I know a wienie man
He owns a wienie stand
He sells 'most anything from hotdogs on down.
Someday I'll change his life
I'll be his wienie wife
Hot dog, I love that wienie man!


I don't have time to write this, but I'm going to write it anyway.

Whatever Poindexter had, he was over the symptoms in a day, but he was run-down and tired for a week. I was sneezy and sick on Friday, and now I'm run-down and tired. Work has not let up and won't until sometime after tax day, most likely.

Despite the tiredness, we went down to the house in Virginia and threw more stuff out, brought more stuff here, donated more stuff, patched the walls, and met with a realtor about renting it out.

We have to go back once more, probably this weekend, to spot-paint and throw even more stuff out. Then I will stick around for a couple of weekdays to let in the cleaning crew and carpet crew to get it spiffed up. And then I think we will be DONE.

If this all sounds boring, it's because my LIFE is boring right now. I work, and I deal with moving crap. I have a little bit of fun now and then, but not much. When the project is over and the moving is over, I think I'm going to take a couple afternoons off to go do whatEVER the HELL I WANT for a little while.

So, random unrelated bits:


There is a certain type of person that I think of as an "artsy urban" type. There are a lot of them in this area. Usually skinny, lots of black, edgy clothing, black-framed glasses, spiky hair, usually dyed dark, very pale complexion if they're white. They look like they've lived in the city for a long time and will never leave.

Anyway, I see a lot of these people, and every so often on a nice afternoon, I see them in male-female pairs, pushing a baby in a stroller. For some reason, the whole baby thing looks completely incongruous. I mean, there's all that black, and rebellious hair, and then ... a baby. I don't know how to explain why this seems so weird to me, but it does.


Yesterday I woke up from my nap to see Poindexter doing a modified sort of pacing.

When he's on the phone, he wanders. All over the damn place. In our house he would walk from the kitchen to the dining/living room and back again the whole time he was on the phone. Walking in circles.

In our current 500-square-foot abode, however, he doesn't have as far to wander. So when I woke up, he was in front of the window looking down at the street, then he'd walk four feet to the left, talk for a while, walk four feet to the right, pick up the binoculars to check out something on the street, put them down, walk four feet to the left, etc. Cracked me up.

In case you were wondering, yes, we brought up the binoculars. Our street is very well-traveled and there is always something going on down there. During one lunch hour we were watching a woman have a peculiar, long conversation with a meter man who had just ticketed her car. They were talking, and occasionally one of them would take the ticket out from under the wiper, and then put it back. She appeared mostly to be asking him questions, and he was giving long-winded faux-authoritative answers. Very odd.

With the binoculars, we can actually see people's facial expressions, yet I could not figure out what the hell was going on down there.

I can't quite lipread, though, which is a shame. Their faces are just a little too small, I think, or else my hands wobble too much. When people are stopped at the traffic light I have a full view of their faces so it could be interesting, eavesdropping.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!