FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2001-11-19 - 1:59 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Carry That Weight", Beatles


Last night I was trying to figure out why having a househusband is making me so happy.

Partly, I'm sure, it's that he gets stuff done around the house, leaving more leisure time for us. I still do my chores -- all the dishes, grocery shopping, bills, straightening clutter -- but I get more help on the straightening, he occasionally does a few dishes or accompanies me to the grocery store, and he does all those projects that we talk about doing but never get around to.

That's not the main reason, though. I think there's something about having him there all the time, and not having any time constraints, that relaxes me quite a bit. He's always home, and he never has to rush off anywhere. He's there when I wake up in the morning (when he works he's out of the house by 7:30), which is a big thing. He wakes up when I do, but lays in bed and listens to Howard while I'm getting ready for work, so I can stop and look at how cute he is and kiss him whenever I feel like it. He's always relaxed, and never has that crap in his hair anymore (he shellacks it to keep it out of his face when he's working). When he's working I'm always fussing at him about the "goop" he puts in his hair, because his hair is really, really gorgeous and I don't like having it all slicked up and icky. (Hey, I'm a *girl* and I don't put crap in my hair. No gel, no mousse, no hairspray, nothing. Touchable hair, baby.)

I had thought that maybe after these six years together, almost five of which we've been living together, I might have started to need more space or something. But I'm finding instead that I still never get tired of being with him. It's a lot easier now to go out and do things without him -- during the first few years we lived together I could hardly stand to be away from him because of the long-distance relationship we'd had in the beginning. But I still prefer just being with him -- doing something together or doing our own activities -- to just about anything else most of the time.

So having him around all the time since he's not working has been really nice, and made me mushy and happy. I'm going to enjoy the hell out of this as long as it lasts. At some point, he's going to get fidgety and want to work, and might take a less-than-ideal job just so he can work, but until then or until he gets a job he loves, it's going to be very, very nice.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!