FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2001-08-27 - 3:13 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Should I Stay or Should I Go", The Clash


Today I drove the POS to work, because I'm driving it tonight into the city and wanted to check the oil. It was a quart low, so good thing I checked. I grabbed a quart of oil from the trunk.

Suddenly I'm surrounded by construction workers (Southern white men in their 40s and early 50s) wanting to help me. One is offering me a rag, which he let me keep. The other is promising to get his truck out of the way for me (it was blocking the road, but I could have done a K-turn and gone the other way). A third is telling me he sees me watering my garden a lot.

I was so surprised and amused by the whole thing that I got flustered and babbled. It was really odd. There must just be something about the way some men were raised, that they can't let a woman deal with a car all by herself. Not because they think I'm inept, but because cars are dirty and a purty gurl doesn't need to get her hands all dirty like that? I don't know. It doesn't feel condescending, just polite and nice and kind of misguidedly cute.

They should see me changing the oil in the Volkswagen (Frances' brother still talks about that), cleaning my gun, and driving over parking lot medians on my dirt bike.


Poindexter had a moment last night when he was suddenly extremely dizzy. As though he'd been spinning around in circles and then suddenly stopped. He was kinda freaked out.

His mom has gotten (twice) a virus that affects the inner ear and makes you dizzy, so I thought it might be that. But his dizziness passed. His mom thinks it's the stress of dealing with travel last weekend (neither of us travel well) and the whole mess with the flooring. She told him to take it easy this weekend.

He said when it happened, he thought he was having a stroke. That was creepy. It made me think of how it might be when we get older, with each of us getting sick and needing operations and such, and how horribly scary that must be. Always worrying if you're going to lose the other person. The thought of losing him really terrifies me. Ugh. I can't think about this.


This entry never got finished. Oh well.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!