FRANKS AND BEANS!
Ramblings and Musings
from Evelynne

Get a Diaryland Diary
E-mail me
Archive
Most recent entry

For short, random blurbs that don't merit a full entry, check my LiveJournal

Who Am I?
(now with photos)

Who's Who

Who I Read

If you see a dead picture link and REALLY want to see the picture, e-mail me and I'll e-mail it to you. I had to delete a bunch to save space.

Quick list:

Kevin
Callie
Tino
Erin
Ottoman Empire
Sundry Mourning
Sarah
Amy
Atara
Kristala
Jaffo
Bear
Terry Lee

2001-08-10 - 12:53 p.m.

On the internal soundtrack: "Sweet Transvestite", RHPS


Wednesday

Ugh. I feel crummy. I stayed home yesterday and slept a lot with some kind of intestinal bug. I accused Kevin and Callie of giving it to me. It wasn't too bad in the sense that I didn't have as many bathroom trips as might be expected, but I felt crummy all day and today I am overwhelmingly tired and wishing I'd stayed home.

Lots of people are talking about this heat wave. It's nowhere near as bad as I was expecting. At 7pm last night I sat outside reading and was warm but comfortable. I think it's still pretty dry, since the temps are going down into the 70s at night.

I still remember the heat wave two summers ago when we had highs around 102 for a week, and it was MUGGY. It would be 90 degrees at 10pm. It was positively horrendous. And of course, that was the week the air conditioning on both air-conditioned cars (the VW doesn't have it, as you might expect) ran out of freon. Joy!


Thursday

OK, it's the next day now. This entry isn't happening very fast.

So, the big thing is, now that we have a place to ride, we're gonna buy me a cheap little dirt bike. A used Honda XR-100 -- basically the same as Poindexter's but smaller. There is one nearby, and would be perfect except that there is a problem with the title. Some sort of paperwork mixup, so that the owner never got the title from the shop and nobody seems to know exactly where it is. Groaaaaaaaaaan.

As short as I can make the story: A kid named Matt actually bought the bike (supposedly outright -- no loan). Then he accepted payments from his friend Jonathan, who is the kid trying to sell the bike. For whatever reason, Mike never got the title. And the bike shop has no record of the sale, although Mike claims to have a receipt. Jonathan doesn't seem to understand that he's gonna have a hard time selling a bike without the title.

Goddammit, if it weren't for these dopey kids (although actually I blame the parents more for not teaching the kids the importance of titles), I'd have a dirt bike by now.

Poindexter spent some time on the phone with the guy at the shop, but couldn't find anything out. The shop owner needs to see the receipt.

So Poindexter called up the kid who owns the bike, and said, "Well, I'd like to buy this bike from you but I can't do it without a title." He gave him the name & number of a guy at the shop who could help him. The kid sounded disappointed that the sale wasn't happening, but Poindexter wasn't sure if the kid was actually going to try to get the title or not.

So, I'm still looking. I'm very impatient. We could buy one at a shop, but then I have to pay taxes and fees, which I could avoid if I bought a bike in a private sale. I suppose taxes and fees are better than driving three hours one way to look at a bike that might suck, though. I have to weigh my options. How much is it worth to me not to spend six hours in a car? Especially given that I will probably have to travel half an hour just to get to the bike shop?


Friday

Someday, this entry will get written & posted.

First, Amy was supposed to visit this weekend, and she had to cancel. Then Rob & Rianna were tentatively going to visit, and they had to cancel too. So now we have the whole weekend wide open. Jeez, what will we ever do with ourselves.

All right, okay, here's something to save this entry from being a laundry list.

Last night Poindexter was explaining to me the differences between a motorcycle and a quad. He was also explaining to me how the bike works, what kind of mistakes beginners are likely to make, what it's like to ride a dirt bike vs. a regular bike, stuff like that. At one point he expressed his concern that I might not like it.

Evie: Why not?
Poindexter: Well, it may not be your thing. You have to be kind of adventurous, I guess.
Evie: And you're adventurous? HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
Poindexter: What?
Evie: Ok, we're talking about someone who loves routine, hates to leave the house, hates to travel, never makes a rash decision, always has to have his clothes on...
Poindexter: [laughing] I can't argue with any of this. Well, sometimes I'm adventurous.
Evie: Like when you have a root beer instead of a Coke? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
Poindexter: Turn off the light.
Evie: Okay, my adventurous husband. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

I'm being unfair. He must be adventurous where his bike is concerned, since he's putting me into a panic telling me about the jumps he does. But in general, it's not a word you'd use to describe him.


previous index next


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!